Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Star Trek: Attack Wing» Forums » Rules

Subject: Independents, Squad Buliding Penalties & Elite Talent Upgrade rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Lenkic
Australia
Moorabbin
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmb
Forgive my stupidity, but I'm trying to get my head around a couple of things.

The ship determines the Faction, so if I put a Klingon Captain on a Federation Ship, I pay +1 SP for the Klingon Captain, right?

Can I then put a Federation Elite Talent Upgrade on the Klingon Captain?

If so, does this cost the Elte Talent Upgrade's normal SP? Or if instead I put a Klingon Elite Talent Upgrade on the Klingon Captain on the Federation Starship, do I pay +1 SP on that Elite Talent Upgrade?

Are Independents classified as a Faction? Do those cards attract Faction Penalties?

If so, if I put an Independents Elite Talent Upgrade on a Federation Captain on a Federation Starship, such as "Diversionary Tactics" on Jean-Luc Picard on the Enterprise, do I pay +1 SP?

And if Independents are a Faction that attracts Faction Penalties, if Lore or Khan Singh captains a Federation ship, do I pay +1 SP for them?

Sorry if this is long-winded.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Humphreys
United States
Salem
Oregon
flag msg tools
Everything is based on the ship.

Captain off faction (from the ship)? +1 SP
Elite Talent off faction (from the ship)? +1 SP

So a Federation Captain on a Klingon Ship is +1 SP (because he's not a Klingon Captain) and if he has a Federation Elite Talent it's +1 SP (because it's not a Klingon Elite Talent)

Independent is it's own faction. However, you can add an Independent Flagship, which turns your ship into dual faction Original Faction / Independent. So you wouldn't have penalties on Original Faction or Independent upgrades.

If you put a Independent Elite Talent on a Federation Captain on a Federation Starship, it is off faction from the Federation Starship, so you'd pay +1 SP.

If you put a Independent Captain on a non-Independent Starship, you'd pay +1 SP unless it says otherwise.

Hope this clears things up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shrouded In Mystery
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
EDIT: beat me to it, arg!

Yes to everything.

Faction penalties are always tied to the ship, even for elite talents.

Independent is also a faction, but there are two ways to get around faction penalties:
1 - You can make your ship dual faction via an independent flagship.
2 - You can make any captain independent via the independent fleet captain.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Lenkic
Australia
Moorabbin
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmb
Are Independent Flagship and Independent Fleet Captain Upgrade cards?

EDIT: I just noticed that they are Resource Cards.

So in the scenario of Khan captaining the Reliant, Khan will cost 6 SP (5 + 1), but because of his Spcial Ability, he can have any faction upgrades at no additional SP cost.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Humphreys
United States
Salem
Oregon
flag msg tools
Dark_Lord_13 wrote:
So in the scenario of Khan captaining the Reliant, Khan will cost 6 SP (5 + 1), but because of his Spcial Ability, he can have any faction upgrades at no additional SP cost.


Correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Lenkic
Australia
Moorabbin
Victoria
flag msg tools
mbmb
Thanks, guys.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristoff Bergenholm
United States
Millersville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dark_Lord_13 wrote:
Are Independent Flagship and Independent Fleet Captain Upgrade cards?

EDIT: I just noticed that they are Resource Cards.

So in the scenario of Khan captaining the Reliant, Khan will cost 6 SP (5 + 1), but because of his Spcial Ability, he can have any faction upgrades at no additional SP cost.


If, however, there's an Independant flagship on the Reliant, Khan will only cost his base 5SP. Independant flagships grant dual-faction to the ship they're applied to.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.