Mr. Mighty
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb

Haersk has his dexterity die up to the +2 marked. His card also says below that, Ranged +3.

When making a combat check that says Dexterity it makes sense that you only get the +2 bonus. If he gets to use his Dexterity Ranged, does he the the +3 AND the +2 from the main dexterity line? or just the +3??

If he doesnt get both, it almost seems like the more you mark the dexterity bonus boxes as you get more powerful, the more you are missing out on always only getting the +3 bonus to ranged attacks?


Hope this makes sense, looking at his card might help to understand my question.

Thanks!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin B. Smith
United States
Mercer Island
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To be clear, there is no such thing as "Dexterity Ranged" check. In theory, a character could have a Ranged skill that is based off Intelligence or Strength.

Harsk has a "Ranged" skill, which happens to be defined as his Dexterity skill +3 in your case. So he rolls his Dexterity die, and adds the dexterity bonus (+2) to get his dexterity result. Then add +3 go get his ranged result.

I don't have the link handy, but there is an excellent guide for new users in the BGG Files section.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The guide is here if you are interested.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.