On page 8 of the rules, #3 says that if a staffer is on either the surveyer or zoning board, you should do the pre-bidding parts of those actions. #5 says to not remove staffers from the board until the end of the round.You're absolutely correct. The pre-action for Surveyor or Zoning Board only happens if the player whose turn it is has just placed the staffer on that space.
#3 should really be "if the active player has a staffer on either the surveyer or zoning board, do the preactions for that space", right? Surely you don't do the preaction before every person's turn if the first player chose the action?
Sorry about this.