Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Canasta» Forums » Rules

Subject: Picking up from discard for existing meld? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Darren Mac
Canada
Valley
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In Classic Canasta, is this ok?

I have a meld of nines
The discard pile is NOT frozen
A nine is discarded
I have no nines in my hand
Can I pick up the nine, add it to my existing meld, and take the entire discard pile?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magister Germanicus
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes! This is absolutely allowed. It's great fun getting your opponents in a "squeeze" with no safe discard!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Mac
Canada
Valley
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!
Pagat is the only place I saw that rule mentioned, and it seems like a biggie!
Every other place (I saw) only mentions using the discard pile by making a new meld with cards in hand.

Again, thanks for the help!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr Gumby
Australia
Taree
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Don't you have to take the entire discard pile if you take the top card? It's been a while since I played and I can't remember. If you do, it may not always be worth it. You get a lot of junk and the game may be near the end.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Mac
Canada
Valley
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You do.... And you're right. (Although I haven't yet played enough to comment properly )

Another question that came up:

The pile is frozen to me until my first meld.
Can I, in attempting to get my 50 points, pick up a queen from the discard and add it to two queens in my hand (30 points), and then drop two fours and a two (30 points), and take the discard pile?

In other words, is my first meld in this case, just the queens (in which case all is well, and I get the pile), or a combination of the queens and fours (in which case I needed a wild, and so it's illegal with a frozen discard)?

We played the former, but I wanted to verify.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron
United States
Huntington Beach
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For a meld yes, for a closed canasta no.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magister Germanicus
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no such thing as a "closed" Canasta in Classic Canasta. That only applies to some variations on the game.

Anytime you take anything from the discard pile, you always take the entire discard pile. This is usually a very good thing. Again, CLASSIC Canasta, which you asked about.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magister Germanicus
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And yes, you would definitely have met your (50 pt) initial meld requirement in the way you suggested and thus can validly claim that queen and the entire discard pile.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron
United States
Huntington Beach
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Closed" was the wrong word. Made canasta, would be more like it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Mac
Canada
Valley
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks all!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.