Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Cuba Libre» Forums » Rules

Subject: DR bot attacks! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Walsh
Ireland
Lucan
Co Dublin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Directorio can gain Control of either Pinar Del Rio or La Habana with a successful attack. The Directorio has 3 Underground Guerillas in Pinar del Rio, 3 Underground Guerillas in Camaguey City and 2 Underground Guerillas in La Habana. Directorio does not have 4+ Guerillas or any other Underground Guerillas in spaces with enemies.

Syndicate are in all three spaces, and has Cash in La Habana and Camaguey City, but not Pinar del Rio. There are no Government pieces in La Habana or Pinar Del Rio.

Which space or spaces does it attack in?

Does it attack in all 3 spaces, Ambushing in La Habana, because all spaces have Underground Guerillas and therefore meet the criteria for attacking?

Does it Ambush in Pinar del Rio (with no attacks elsewhere) because it can gain Control there and Pinar del Rio has more Guerillas than La Habana?

Does it Ambush in Camaguey City (with no attacks elsewhere) because it has more Guerillas than La Habana and it can take Cash there and can't in Pinar del Rio?

Does it Ambush in La Habana (with no attacks elsewhere) because it can kill a Syndicate Guerilla with Cash while still taking Control?

Does it Ambush in either Camaguey City or Pinar del Rio, choosing between them on a roll-off?

Or somethig else?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Walsh
Ireland
Lucan
Co Dublin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
(This is a stylised example only in the sense that Directorio kept taking Events and never actually got around to Attacking.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefano Tine'
Italy
Genoa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Amaranth wrote:

Does it attack in all 3 spaces, Ambushing in La Habana, because all spaces have Underground Guerillas and therefore meet the criteria for attacking?


This, I think, as it should execute all moves to the maximum extent possible.

Unless Resources = 2, in which case it should attack in La Habana (takes cash and control) and in Camaguey City (takes cash). Ambush should be in La Habana (fewest guerrilla) but should have been in Camaguey City if fewest there (risking not to take control of La Habana after all..).

Or, if Resources = 1, attack & ambush in La Habana only (control and cash as a bonus).


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Amaranth wrote:
Directorio can gain Control of either Pinar Del Rio or La Habana with a successful attack. The Directorio has 3 Underground Guerillas in Pinar del Rio, 3 Underground Guerillas in Camaguey City and 2 Underground Guerillas in La Habana. Directorio does not have 4+ Guerillas or any other Underground Guerillas in spaces with enemies.

Syndicate are in all three spaces, and has Cash in La Habana and Camaguey City, but not Pinar del Rio. There are no Government pieces in La Habana or Pinar Del Rio.


It looks like the conditions for attacking are met in Pinar del Rio and La Habana. So we move forward.

We select the attack spaces as most DR guerrillas where there are enemies to attack. I assume this is Pinar, Habana, and Cameguay.

Ambush would then be in Habana.

That is my first look.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Amaranth wrote:
Does it attack in all 3 spaces, Ambushing in La Habana, because all spaces have Underground Guerillas and therefore meet the criteria for attacking?

As long as it has 3+ Resources, this.

If it only has 2 Resources, it would Attack in PdR and CC (since that's where it has most Guerrillas) and make a random roll to see which of the two gets the Ambush; with 1 Resource it would make a random roll between PdR and CC to see which of them it Attacks (and Ambushes) in.

Note that DRbot does not select Attack spaces based on where it could take Cash! The second Attack bullet only describes which enemies DRbot will remove in the spaces selected by the first bullet... the rule book text (8.6.4) is very clear on this; the flowchart not so much.

Regards, Oerjan
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Walsh
Ireland
Lucan
Co Dublin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Oerjan wrote:
Amaranth wrote:
Does it attack in all 3 spaces, Ambushing in La Habana, because all spaces have Underground Guerillas and therefore meet the criteria for attacking?

As long as it has 3+ Resources, this.

If it only has 2 Resources, it would Attack in PdR and CC (since that's where it has most Guerrillas) and make a random roll to see which of the two gets the Ambush; with 1 Resource it would make a random roll between PdR and CC to see which of them it Attacks (and Ambushes) in.

Thank you for all your answers. There's just one thing I'm curious about, and it's that if all of the Guerillas in Camaguey City were Active it wouldn't attack there, even though an Attack with Active Guerillas is a strictly better move than an Attack with the same number of Underground Guerillas, if you're not going to Ambush.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Shaw
United States
flag msg tools
mb
One question/comment. Amaranth mentions 4+ guerrillas but the priority box for the Directorio say "4 total guerrillas" I read this to mean exactly 4 guerrillas. Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Bloodfeud wrote:
One question/comment. Amaranth mentions 4+ guerrillas but the priority box for the Directorio say "4 total guerrillas" I read this to mean exactly 4 guerrillas. Is this correct?

No.

"Total" refers to the sum of Underground+Active DR Guerrillas. It is not intended to imply that DRbot won't Attack if it could use 5 or more Guerrillas...

Regards,
Oerjan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.