Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Fire in the Lake» Forums » Rules

Subject: Playbook error rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
Ladson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 20, 2nd column, 2nd to last paragraph, 2nd sentence references rule 8.5.6, which doesn't exist. The number should be 8.6.5.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Scottgun wrote:
Page 20, 2nd column, 2nd to last paragraph, 2nd sentence references rule 8.5.6, which doesn't exist. The number should be 8.6.5.


Ordinarily for this type of mistake we would thrash Steve Carey to within an inch of his life EXCEPT he is much bigger than all of us and he owns guns.

SO, instead we will make a notation to fix in the living rules down the road.

Mark
24 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Ladson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MarkHerman wrote:
Scottgun wrote:
Page 20, 2nd column, 2nd to last paragraph, 2nd sentence references rule 8.5.6, which doesn't exist. The number should be 8.6.5.


Ordinarily for this type of mistake we would thrash Steve Carey to within an inch of his life EXCEPT he is much bigger than all of us and he owns guns.

SO, instead we will make a notation to fix in the living rules down the road.

Mark


He's gotta sleep sometime. That's when Charlie operates

Also, on page 22 for Example 4 in the first paragraph it directs you to "Set up the 1968 scenario..." This caused me to do a double-take because all the previous examples referred to it as the "Medium" scenario; so although very minor and easily understood, perhaps it should be revised to "Medium" just for the sake of consistency.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dave gee
United States
Unspecified
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I think I found one too. Playbook page 16, second column, 3rd paragraph from bottom of page, "The next roll is '3,2,3': Binh Tuy..."

Shouldn't the roll be 5,2,3 or 6,2,3 to get Binh Tuy?
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Carey
United States
West Coast
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MarkHerman wrote:
Ordinarily for this type of mistake we would thrash Steve Carey to within an inch of his life EXCEPT he is much bigger than all of us and he owns guns.


The non-player examples are not by me (Oerjan?) - he is the bot master!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan C
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep, to gain what he cannot lose."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The buck stops..somewhere over there!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Steve Carey wrote:
MarkHerman wrote:
Ordinarily for this type of mistake we would thrash Steve Carey to within an inch of his life EXCEPT he is much bigger than all of us and he owns guns.


The non-player examples are not by me (Oerjan?) - he is the bot master!

Not me either. Wise from Cuba Libre, Volko wrote the bot tutorials himself...

With the COIN series, the buck always stops with Volko

/Oerjan
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Guttag
United States
West Chester
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Bot Master (aka Oerjan),

Actually the "buck" in this case should stop with us playtesters who were proofing that Playbook (and I was one of those!). Frequently my ol' eyes get tired after looking at too much print, and there's lots of print in that Playbook.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Carey
United States
West Coast
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oerjan wrote:
...the buck always stops with Volko.


As outstanding as the game is, I have a feeling that a LOT of bucks are going to be stopping with Volko (and Mark).

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Guttag
United States
West Chester
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Steve,

LOL, great photo and comment!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Ladson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Found another error in the playbook. Pg. 35 under Card 55 "Trucks". First sentence, "For the shaded Event..." should be "unshaded".
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.