Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Unconditional Surrender! World War 2 in Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Resolving Out of Supply State...When?? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lincoln Graves
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
Just checking, it appears that the actual loss of an out of supply unit actually happens simultaneously for every player after EVERY player has completed their Operations Phases. Is this correct? Or, does the resolution of the out of supply state happen after all efforts to supply unit are completed at the end of EACH player's Operations Phase. This would seem to give the player moving first a perilous advantage. Their OoS unit will still be there during the next player's Operations Phase, albeit at a significant disadvantage, a speed bump never the less. The player who goes last will have a different advantage, they will have the opportunity to eliminate an OoS unit as opposed to losing it in combat and thus losing some national will. I'm new to the game but I believe their is never an change in player order so that means that the Axis always get this former advantage and one of the Allied players, really both since they never fight one another while the Axis are around, the latter advantage. Interesting...If I do indeed have this correct, is this a serendipitous design effect? Or, was it a necessary rough edge to deal with three player situations? Also, interesting that the Allies would often get their Event Markers back immediately after offensive use and therefore always have them available for defense. Again, serendipity?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Enrico Catanzaro
Italy
Palermo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
according the SoP I believe all factions first complete their action sub-phase AND supply check sub phase, marking any unit with supply problems with a low supply or a no supply marker (in this latter case only if already under a low supply at the time of the check).

when all factions have made both sub-phases then everyone goes in the "no supply phase" at the same moment. It's only during this phase that can happen unit reduction or elimination of "no supply" marked units.

"Low supply" marked units does not risk reduction or elimination until next month, when they could see changed their supply status in "no supply".



2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Salvatore Vasta
United States
Woodstock
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bolkonsky wrote:
Just checking, it appears that the actual loss of an out of supply unit actually happens simultaneously for every player after EVERY player has completed their Operations Phases. Is this correct?


It happens once for all factions after all factions have completed the Operations Phase. As Enrico wrote, unit reduction or elimination due to being marked with a No Supply marker happens in the No Supply Phase.

The Allies can gain a brief advantage going after the Axis by attacking an Axis unit that dropped a supply state level in the recently completed Axis Supply Check Sub-Phase. The Axis also get to do that, but it has to wait until the next turn.

Quote:
Also, interesting that the Allies would often get their Event Markers back immediately after offensive use and therefore always have them available for defense. Again, serendipity?


If any faction uses an Event marker in combat, it goes on the Turn Track (except for a Surprise Attack marker, which goes in a Holding Box). Being able to use it in two consecutive Actions Sub-Phase is possible for all factions, but only over the span of two turns. You cannot have a situation in which a faction uses the same marker offensively and defensively in the same turn.

Example: If the Axis do not use an Event marker offensively in the Axis Actions Sub-Phase, they can use it defensively during an Allied Actions Sub-Phase in Jun-44. Then come Jul-44, the Axis can use it offensively during their sub-phase.

If the Allies do not use an Event marker defensively during the Axis Actions Sub-Phase of Jun-44, they can use it offensively in their Jun-44 sub-phase, and then defensively the Axis sup-phase of Jul-44.

However, if the Axis use an Event marker offensively in Jun-44 during their sub-phase, the Axis cannot use the same marker defensively in Jun-44 (during the Allied sub-phase) because it will be on the Turn Track. Likewise, if the Allies use an Event marker defensively during the Axis sub-phase of Jun-44, the Allies cannot use the same marker offensively in Jun-44 (during the Allied sub-phase) because it will be on the Turn Track.

Sal
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.