You bluff it, playing it before the reveal as though it's a style card. Then one of the three effects takes place (depending on the base you played with it). Then, it's either your finisher, or a pulse or a cancel (which are a great way of countering the opponents own finisher). Afterward it;s removed from the match, while the base recycles as normal.
when you say playing it before the reveal -- what is IT? I may be thinking too hard on this
So I lay down two cards. One is a base and one is a style. When I reveal do I take the style card back in my hand and play the finisher card instead? It just seems that from reading all the forums and the rules that there is a certain special card that gets played face down with the base card