Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
26 Posts
1 , 2  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Do It Yourself

Subject: The NTC Table - Because all home made custom tables should have a name? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Becker
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Inspired by a friend, geekchic and other DIY'ers scattered on the interwebs; I decided to undertake the task of building my own gaming table.

As an electrician by trade - this wood stuff is fairly new to me, so i spent allot of time researching things, doing them, screwing it up, and doing it again marginally better, saying screw it and moving on. (basically what i am saying is "yes, if you zoom in, you will see some flaws)

My main inspiration was the Vizier from geekchichq.com. I used sketch-up to do my initial modelling and then worked from that baseline.

The Table material is 85% oak, with maple ply, and cedar legs (because im not buying 6x6 oak timbres - nope)
The playing surface is vintage microsuede laid on top of 1/4" rubber underlay - the feel is fantastic.

Its constructed in 4 pieces - removable playing "mat", removable playing surface inlay, table frame, and legs.
Moving this thing is a 2 man job minimum - preferably 4. I estimate a total weight of it at about 160lbs.
No fancy joints, all screw and glue.

If you have questions/comments or cries of revolt please let em rip. I would love to help people avoid the same mistakes i made. I have a bunch of pics of the construction process if people would like to see them as well.

That being said, here is The NTC Table in my Nerd Den

Cheers

NTC
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Woody Taylor
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nice table! And yes, as creator of the Frankentable, I agree all custom tables should have a name. Well done.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Becker
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
woodshow wrote: