GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,807 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
19 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Clash of Cultures» Forums » Rules

Subject: Order of Things on Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Wolfe
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmb

If you draw an Event card with, say, Barbarian Attack; do you do the attack first and THEN do the rest of the stuff on the card?



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
0 hr wrote:

If you draw an Event card with, say, Barbarian Attack; do you do the attack first and THEN do the rest of the stuff on the card?





Yes, you always do the icon first (though I read the text to all before doing anything, so people know what will come after the icon is resolved).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Wolfe
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Thanks. That would have been my guess from reading the rules (as it says do it just after drawing the card). It's the earlier bit about doing events "immediately", plus the counter-intuitive icon placement, that caused doubt.

For all you game designers out there, keep in mind that by default English readers will go left to right, then top to bottom when executing instructions. Part way down the right side of a card does not imply "do this first!"


3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.