GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,232 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
20 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fellowship Rules Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Gast

Weyauwega
Wisconsin
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Gollum is the guide, the fellowship is in Noman~Lands. Shadow people plays the character event card Foul Thing From The Deep. It reads- Play if the fellowship is not in a region containing a free peoples settlement. (Which they aren't.) Draw a hunt tile. If the tile shows an Eye or is a fellowship special tile , discard it without effect. Otherwise follow the rules for a successful Hunt, except that the free peoples player must reduce hunt damage (if any) by eliminating a random companion (unless there are no companions in the fellowship) before using the ring. A standard 3 damage hunt tile was drawn. What can the free peoples player do? Is Gollum a companion? Is he then eliminated? Can he use his guide ability? We were confused when this came up during play. The rulebook components breakdown show him as a companion, we didnt think he was since he didnt start in the fellowship and he does not have any leadership. Thanks in advance for the feedback. Just wanna make sure we play it right.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Yaure
United States
Plymouth Meeting
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Gollum cannot be eliminated, so do not eliminate him.
2. I believe he can still use his guide ability.
3. So, 3 corruption or 2 corruption and revealed
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Hansen
United States
Naperville
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gollum doesn't count as a companion, so you treat it like a normal 3 tile and he can use his guide ability. On page 8 in the rulebook it lists all of the Companions and Gollum isn't included. Gollum gets his own section in the rulebook.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Gast

Weyauwega
Wisconsin
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you very much for the clarification.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.