Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Mage Wars: Forged in Fire – Spell Tome Expansion» Forums » General

Subject: conquer explained rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Walter Kolinski
United States
Chicago
IL
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just got forged in fire. Not sure how conquer works. Can anyone give me a good explanation of it? Thanks Wally
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivan Kidd
United States
Thomasville
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
First, the spell has a number of requirements that must be met.

1) It must target an enemy non-terrain corporeal conjuration. Currently there are no terrain conjurations in the game. They will presumably be released later, but until then that's not an issue. So you just have to make sure it is corporeal and controlled by an opponent.

2) The target can not be attached to another object. This means it has to be attached to a zone rather than a creature or another conjuration.

3) You must control the zone that it is in. This is defined in the Forged in Fire rule book as meaning there are friendly creatures in the zone but no enemy creatures.

4) You must have a friendly soldier creature in the zone. This is basically just an added restriction to the above requirement.

If all of those conditions are met, then you can benefit from the spell. Otherwise, casting the spell is illegal resulting in it being cancelled, the costs forfeited, and it being discarded without effect. Assuming that all those requirements are met, however, it is a pretty awesome spell that does a few things.

1) It automatically destroys the target and currently there isn't much to prevent this destruction. It is the equivalent to conjurations as Dispel is to enchantments.

2) It allows you the option of casting the target that was just destroyed under your own control. Thus, you not only remove the benefit they were getting, you can acquire it for yourself. You could even conquer an opponent's Barracks to have two running simultaneously. (But note, you can not do this if the target has restrictions that you do not meet, such as Dark Mage Only or the equivalent).

3) If you decide that you don't like their conjuration and just want it to be destroyed instead of taking it for yourself, you may immediately cast any conjuration from your spellbook that you wish into that zone. This is essentially a free action that does not require a prepared spell.

I hope that helps.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Walter Kolinski
United States
Chicago
IL
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the awesome explanation. Got it now
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.