GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,341 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
23 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Alien Uprising» Forums » Rules

Subject: F1-D0 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott Bender
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules text reads: "Exhaust (flip card over) to move him up to four spaces and pick up 1 Debris Token."

I'm assuming he moves up to four spaces with each activation, regardless whether he picks up debris? So if he already has debris he can work his way back to the ship 4 spaces at a time to drop it off?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Launius
United States
Johns Creek
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

That is correct.

Richard
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Bender
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Richard Launius wrote:

That is correct.

Richard


Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jake Staines
United Kingdom
Grantham
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On the subject of F1-D0, is the track on the card supposed to track activations (it doesn't say as such, so I would assume not) or health (my assumption)?



I assume that "flip" means "rotate in place on the table" rather than "turn face down", because otherwise the token would fall off. ;-)

EDIT: Actually, follow-up question: given that the Sonic Driver can be used to pick up debris in the middle of movement - that is, move a space, take the debris with the Sonic Driver, move another space - can the same be done with F1-D0? Can the owner move him a space, pick up debris and then continue movement?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bichatse wrote:
On the subject of F1-D0, is the track on the card supposed to track activations (it doesn't say as such, so I would assume not) or health (my assumption)?
Quote:
Health - there is no 'usage' cost for F1-D0. Think of him as a walking suit of armour in this respect.


I assume that "flip" means "rotate in place on the table" rather than "turn face down", because otherwise the token would fall off. ;-)

EDIT: Actually, follow-up question: given that the Sonic Driver can be used to pick up debris in the middle of movement - that is, move a space, take the debris with the Sonic Driver, move another space - can the same be done with F1-D0? Can the owner move him a space, pick up debris and then continue movement?
Good question! The only situation when Movement is interrupted by Debris retrieval seems to be when a Crew executes a Recovery Special Action. Use of Skills or Equipment provides an exemption. The anomaly here is that it isn't a Crew doing the Recovery or the Move. In the spirit of the single case where movement has to end, and given that equipment is intended to provide exceptions ,I'd say that F1-D0's movement is not interrupted by picking up Debris. I don't know this, but that's what I believe and play. Until the designers confirm or refute.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jake Staines
United Kingdom
Grantham
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mccrispy wrote:
I'd say that F1-D0's movement is not interrupted by picking up Debris. I don't know this, but that's what I believe and play.


That's the way we played it, for the same reasoning - but it does make F1-D0 incredibly useful. It seems to me from a single play that the biggest challenge in the game is getting hold of the debris tokens you need from the outermost zone (even if you don't go for repairing the ship, the homing amplifier is more or less essential to avoid being gestated to death) and the Sonic Driver and F1-D0 turn this from "you have to kill most if not all of the aliens in this zone or you're going to die trying" to a relatively risk-free operation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Bender
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I, on the other hand, have been playing that picking up interrupts movement. I think F1D0 would be a MUCH more useful card played your wa. Right now I find it kind of Meh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
spbtc wrote:
I, on the other hand, have been playing that picking up interrupts movement. I think F1D0 would be a MUCH more useful card played your wa. Right now I find it kind of Meh
There are several game-changing items of Debris: Homing Amplifier, Turret Cannon, F1-D0, Ammo Cache are prime examples that come to mind. It's important that there are multiples so that the game doesn't come down to "did we find the single Debris token that makes a difference?" - it further emphasises the need to collect Debris. In my games, Hull pieces are essentially irrelevant and act as dilution for the real Debris that we're trying to collect. But an early Homing Amplifier, now that makes a big difference.

F1-D0 has a massive limitation: he is fragile. Once Bugs get past the Shields, deploying F1-D0 safely becomes a major challenge; without non-interrupting Recovery he becomes practically useless.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.