Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Simple questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gus I
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I play a card with my opponents event in which cases does the event trigger?
1) Play it to place influence
2) Play it for realignment attempts
3) play it for a coup
4) play it on the space race
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan C
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
"He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep, to gain what he cannot lose."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GuusI wrote:
If I play a card with my opponents event in which cases does the event trigger?
1) Play it to place influence
2) Play it for realignment attempts
3) play it for a coup
4) play it on the space race


1-3. Not 4.
16 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Drazen
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
...or unless played with UN intervention (although technically you're playing UN intervention for the event and discarding, not playing, the opponent's card -- but you are using the Ops points from the opponent's event)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gus I
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK Thanks
Gus
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Pereira
Portugal
Porto
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are some events that will only happen if other cards have been played.

As an example, if your playing Russia and you have the Marshall Plan and Nato cards in your hand you can play them without triggering the event and they go to the discard. It will pass some turma until they papear again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawcomic
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
The stuff that dreams are made of...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Note that if the event doesn't trigger, it goes in the discard pile even if it's an asterixed event that is removed from the game when played.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Carroll
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
Soli Deo Gloria!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
davidallves wrote:
There are some events that will only happen if other cards have been played.

As an example, if your playing Russia and you have the Marshall Plan and Nato cards in your hand you can play them without triggering the event and they go to the discard. It will pass some turma until they papear again.


No, Marshall Plan doesn't have a prerequisite. If you play NATO first, then it will not trigger, since it depends on Marshall Plan. However, Marshall Plan will always occur if played for ops (barring UN Intervention).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.