GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,485 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
22 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Civil War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreat into army reaction radius rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
JOE LIBRANDI
United States
Peoria
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
AoP attacked AoNV at Manassas, lost, became DM and retreated adjacent to Potomac River. The AoP is now adjacent to three Potomac river hexsides across from Washington.

AoNV then attacks the DM AoP. If AoP must retreat is it eliminated since three hexsides are navigable river, or can it retreat into the attacking AoNV reaction radius? Rule 7.7.16 is not clear whether a retreating force can retreat into the attacking army's reaction radius as a last resort before elimination.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken
United States
Crystal Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
joe6778 wrote:
AoP attacked AoNV at Manassas, lost, became DM and retreated adjacent to Potomac River. The AoP is now adjacent to three Potomac river hexsides across from Washington.

AoNV then attacks the DM AoP. If AoP must retreat is it eliminated since three hexsides are navigable river, or can it retreat into the attacking AoNV reaction radius? Rule 7.7.16 is not clear whether a retreating force can retreat into the attacking army's reaction radius as a last resort before elimination.


7.7.13 is the only thing you care about. If the attacker entered the defender's hex in such a way that the only available retreat hexes involve crossing the river, then the army is eliminated. The defender is expressly prohibited from retreating to a hex that was adjacent to the source of the attack. 7.7.16 doesn't apply because retreating into the attacking army's reaction radius is actually impossible to avoid if it wins the combat - the defender will always end up adjacent to the site of the combat and the victorious attacker's reaction radius and therefore would always violate that rule.

ETA: Actually, a defeated attacker can't avoid the reaction radius either, now that I think about it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JOE LIBRANDI
United States
Peoria
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

OK thanks.

(Luckily, the AoP was able to react and move to Washington before the attack, saving itself from elimination with a "5" roll.) Kinda like what actually happened historically.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.