Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Thunderstone Advance: Into the Abyss» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mortality - Doomknight/Death Level 3 Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ken

Pdx
Oregon
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I want to use both physical and magical attacks do I need to discard 2 XP total? My take on it is one XP per type of attack but a friend read it differently. He destroyed 1 XP when he selected the monster to fight therefore he has satisfied the requirement for both physical and magical attacks.

I tried to find an older version of the card online to see if it was clearer but couldn't find one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will M. Baker
United States
Silverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Jakelin wrote:
If I want to use both physical and magical attacks do I need to discard 2 XP total?


I can see how your friend might read it that way, but 2 XP must be discarded to void both traits (the traits are evaluated independently when you select the monster to fight).

Jakelin wrote:
I tried to find an older version of the card online to see if it was clearer but couldn't find one.


The Doomknight•Death monster group is new to Into the Abyss.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken

Pdx
Oregon
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the confirmation Will. I appreciate you taking time to reply.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Castree
Japan
Osaka
Osaka
flag msg tools
ACGalaga.com
badge
What da heck?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So this card says "Discard and XP" and "Trophy: Distroy and XP".

So what's the difference? If you destroy an XP is it out of the game? Or is it treated the same as a discard?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will M. Baker
United States
Silverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
ACGalaga wrote:
So this card says "Discard and XP" and "Trophy: Distroy and XP".

So what's the difference? If you destroy an XP is it out of the game? Or is it treated the same as a discard?


Treat the same as discard. Just an example of terminology we failed to standardize during testing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.