Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
22 Posts

Legendary Encounters: An Alien Deck Building Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Nostromo Mission 2 Solo Event Problem rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
ghost whistler
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
For Mission 2 "noone can hear you scream" if you are playing solo and an event appears after you've scanned a room, how do you fulfil the condition?

It asks the next player (you, in a solo game) to discard 2 cards at random, but your hand is empty at this point becuase you've played out your cards (generating the points necessary to do the scan).

So what do you do?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wil
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
Read more comics!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ghost whistler wrote:
For Mission 2 "noone can hear you scream" if you are playing solo and an event appears after you've scanned a room, how do you fulfil the condition?

It asks the next player (you, in a solo game) to discard 2 cards at random, but your hand is empty at this point becuase you've played out your cards (generating the points necessary to do the scan).

So what do you do?


I believe this one is in the faq. My understanding is that the next player is always you. In this case you don't have any cards left so you can't discard anything. I guess it was more of a gasp then a scream in this case.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I. J. Thompson
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmb
It's worth remembering that you don't plonk down all your cards at once and say, "how shall I spend these?". You play them as you spend them. So, if you still had some Recruit (or other) cards in your hand when you scanned that room, two of them have to go.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francis K. Lalumiere
Canada
Brossard
Quebec
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
True, although specialists and grunts ate generally dumped together on the table at the start of a turn. Then the other cards are played one at a time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivor Bolakov
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ijthompson wrote:
It's worth remembering that you don't plonk down all your cards at once and say, "how shall I spend these?".


But that's my favourite way to play damn it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ghost whistler
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Ok, understood. thanks.

Now, for Ash, presumably the solo player has to play at least one card of his own with Coordinate when he fights Ash.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
A Maracle
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
OverText is such a 23rd centruy fad.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ghost whistler wrote:
Ok, understood. thanks.

Now, for Ash, presumably the solo player has to play at least one card of his own with Coordinate when he fights Ash.


Actually, no. In a solo game, you cannot get rid of Ash and you need to find other ways to deal with him.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ghost whistler
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Wyll wrote:
ghost whistler wrote:
Ok, understood. thanks.

Now, for Ash, presumably the solo player has to play at least one card of his own with Coordinate when he fights Ash.


Actually, no. In a solo game, you cannot get rid of Ash and you need to find other ways to deal with him.


Not sure I like that.

Same with the way Noone Can Hear YOu Scream has a largely ineffectual event in solo play (if you've played your cards, scanned and found an event, it does nothing because the next player it affects is you).

I think ruling that a Coordinate card from the same player's hand is reasonable surely. I know it's thematic since Ripley is rescued, but all the same.

I presume there are other ways to deal with him.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivor Bolakov
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
it does nothing because the next player it affects is you


So...it does something, then?

As for Ash, the issue has come up before, and it's definitely no accident he's essentially impossible to kill in single player. He's a serious obstacle, and you need to make best use of the electric prod/airlock controls.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robbie M.
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If Ripley were alone, she would not have been able to deal with Ash either.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ghost whistler
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
OhBollox wrote:
Quote:
it does nothing because the next player it affects is you


So...it does something, then?



No, if you have no cards to discard....you get a pass on that card.

Seems like a missed opportunity. Maybe the top of the deck instead, which isn't much better. I don't know.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
ghost whistler
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
roborob wrote:
If Ripley were alone, she would not have been able to deal with Ash either.


Yes but Ripley wasn't playing a boardgame.

I can live with the FAQ ruling, I just think it's a bit untidy.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ivor Bolakov
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ghost whistler wrote:
OhBollox wrote:
Quote:
it does nothing because the next player it affects is you


So...it does something, then?



No, if you have no cards to discard....you get a pass on that card.


Er, no, the 'next player' in a solo game is you. So on the next turn, it affects you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Nash
United States
Manor
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup, just how I played it. So, next turn you have 4 cards in hand.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sterling Johnson
United States
Beatrice
Nebraska
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OhBollox wrote:

Er, no, the 'next player' in a solo game is you. So on the next turn, it affects you.


This in the FAQ. You are considered the next player but the event happens immediately. So if you have dumped your hand before revealing an event then you will have nothing to discard.

Of course you are more than welcome to play your way if you feel it better thematically.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I. J. Thompson
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmb
weishaupt wrote:
True, although specialists and grunts ate generally dumped together on the table at the start of a turn. Then the other cards are played one at a time.


In terms of this particular Event, it can certainly be a good idea to play those Grunts and Specialists last!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tommy Brownell
United States
Twin Oaks
OK
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ijthompson wrote:
It's worth remembering that you don't plonk down all your cards at once and say, "how shall I spend these?". You play them as you spend them. So, if you still had some Recruit (or other) cards in your hand when you scanned that room, two of them have to go.


That's incorrect.

The rules explicitly state that while you DO play your cards one at a time, and you generate your Recruit and Attack when you play the cards, you don't ave to use the Recruit or Attack until you are ready...including to Scan a room.

Now, if you chose to Scan the room as soon as you played enough cards to do so, you may get caught in the event. But it is a perfectly legal tactic to play all of your cards and then decide how you're spending the points (higher cost cards would never get recruited or attacked).

Now, if it was a card's special ability that generated the scan, that could be a different story...
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle D
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
I would just draw two fewer cards on my next hand, since I'm the next player in a solo game.

Or I guess the proper way to do it would be to draw 6, discard two (without looking at the hand first), and then continue play normally.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Taylor
United States
Darien
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have also been playing solo where you coordinate with yourself (hey, now).

When you coordinate, you can set one such card aside to assist a following player. That following player is you, just like with every other "next player" rule in the solo game. So, you just set the card aside to use on the next hand, like Vigilant, but the card can only be used on the following turn.

It makes for some interesting choices regarding whether it's better to use a card immediately or help yourself next turn.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
kyldn6 wrote:
I would just draw two fewer cards on my next hand, since I'm the next player in a solo game.

Or I guess the proper way to do it would be to draw 6, discard two (without looking at the hand first), and then continue play normally.


That's what I've been doing. Drawing six for my next hand, as I'm the next player, randomly discarding two and playing that hand with only four cards.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Jackson

Illinois
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
kyldn6 wrote:

I would just draw two fewer cards on my next hand, since I'm the next player in a solo game.

Or I guess the proper way to do it would be to draw 6, discard two (without looking at the hand first), and then continue play normally.
Quote:
That's what I've been doing. Drawing six for my next hand, as I'm the next player, randomly discarding two and playing that hand with only four cards.


That's the way I play this Event. Next draw, draw 6, discard 2 randomly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jarrod Wild
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ghost whistler wrote:
roborob wrote:
If Ripley were alone, she would not have been able to deal with Ash either.


Yes but Ripley wasn't playing a boardgame.

I can live with the FAQ ruling, I just think it's a bit untidy.


Thematically this makes sense. In the movie, it took two+ people to deal with Ash.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.