Thumb up
1 Posts

Samurai & Katana» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Session Report rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
BGG Admin
United States
flag msg tools
We tried playing this with Jerry, Jr., John, Andy, Brent and Peter. The rules are briefer than they should have been. Every round saw us screwing up one rule or antoher. Some cards let you get free units when you evict an opponent, but some don't. We missed the rule that stated fatalities are inflicted with katana cards even if you lose the battle. We didn't realize the blue cards' special powers could only be activated if it were used as the third "special" card of a battle. We didn't notice that you can take two new cards after a battle (or 3 if you're a victorious defender).
We soldiered on despite the mistakes. Peter was trailing and therefore, the emperor, for the whole game. Jr. made a sacrifice play to slow Brent's rise but did not fall behind soon enough to steal the mantle of emerorship. Eventually, Andy's entire army was banished to a single island but he rode this mighty battalion to ultimate victory.
A conflict in rules (later proved moot due to another rule misinterpretation) came up between Brent and Jerry. If two special cards conflict, which one works first? Jerry had a "steal a card" action and Brent had a "force an opponent's card back into his hand" action. We couldn't tell whether one action would could interrupt the other. For once, the rules had no answer and emperor decided in Jerry's favor much to the others' displeasure.
We might play again now that we figured out most of the confusing rules but we still have to come to a collective decision on whose action cards work first. The poorly written rules made for a long, loud, rough game session.

Andy-24; Brent-22?;Jerry-22?; John-19?;Peter & Jr.-8
 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.