Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Commands & Colors: Napoleonics» Forums » Rules

Subject: Moving through leaders rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brad Hurst
United States
Gastonia
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bullet point 6 on page 7 of the rulebook says

Quote:
A unit may move onto a hex occupied by a friendly leader when the leader block is alone in a hex. The unit must stop and move no further on that turn. The leader is considered attached to the unit.


Does this mean a unit cannot move through a leader then if it does not choose to attach leader? For example Cav or Lt Inf?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derry Salewski
United States
Augusta
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
I'm only happy when it rains...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tarheel wrote:
Bullet point 6 on page 7 of the rulebook says

Quote:
A unit may move onto a hex occupied by a friendly leader when the leader block is alone in a hex. The unit must stop and move no further on that turn. The leader is considered attached to the unit.


Does this mean a unit cannot move through a leader then if it does not choose to attach leader? For example Cav or Lt Inf?


Given what you posted, you interpretation is correct.

But it's been a while since I read the whole rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kent Reuber
United States
San Mateo
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's the way I read it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McG
Australia
Penshurst
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tarheel wrote:
Bullet point 6 on page 7 of the rulebook says

Quote:
A unit may move onto a hex occupied by a friendly leader when the leader block is alone in a hex. The unit must stop and move no further on that turn. The leader is considered attached to the unit.


Does this mean a unit cannot move through a leader then if it does not choose to attach leader? For example Cav or Lt Inf?


Looking at the rule in context;

PHASE 3. MOVE YOUR UNITS & LEADERS
Movements are announced and made sequentially, one ordered unit or leader at a time, in the sequence of your choice.

A unit or leader may only be ordered to move once per turn.
A unit or leader that is ordered does not have to move.
A unit or leader’s movement must be completed before beginning the movement of another unit or leader.
Two leaders may not occupy the same hex, though one leader can pass through a hex containing another friendly leader.
Two units may never occupy the same hex.
A unit may not move onto or through a hex occupied by an enemy unit, enemy leader, or friendly unit.
A unit may move onto a hex occupied by a friendly leader when the leader block is alone in a hex. The unit must stop and move no further on that turn. The leader is considered attached to the unit.
Ordered units and leaders may move from one section of the battlefield into another. Note that for brevity in these rules, Left Flank Section, Center Section and Right Flank Section will often simply be denoted as section or sections.
A unit may only move off the battlefield’s baseline edges when explicitly allowed by the scenario’s battle notes.
You may not split off individual blocks from a unit; they must stay together and always move as a group.
A unit that is reduced through casualties may not combine with another unit.
Some terrain features affect movement and may prevent a unit or leader from moving its full distance or battling. Terrain rules are explained in detail in the Terrain rule section.
A unit or leader may not move onto or through a hex with impassable terrain.


there is no option for units to move through leaders here.

Under Leader movement it states
Leader Movement
An ordered leader (either alone in a hex or ordered to detach from the unit it is with) may move up to 3 hexes.
A leader may only be ordered to move once per turn. A leader that is ordered does not have to move (unless attached to an ordered unit that is moved).
Ordered leaders may move from one section of the battlefield into another section. A leader may never move off the short sides of a battlefield.
A leader may retreat voluntarily off his side of the battlefield to avoid being eliminated. When attached to units, retreat off the side may be mandatory. See Leader Retreat rule section.
A leader may move through a hex with a friendly unit, a hex with a friendly unit and an attached leader, or another friendly leader that is alone in a hex, but may not end movement in a hex containing another friendly leader.
A leader that moves onto a hex with a friendly unit may stop as long as the unit does not already have an attached leader. The leader is then considered attached to the unit.
A leader may not move onto or through a hex occupied by an enemy unit or enemy leader, unless the leader is attempting to escape through the occupied enemy hex.
A leader may not battle when alone.


so I'd take it that since there is no corresponding exception for units, the rule is the unit must stop when entering a hex with an unattached leader.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Hurst
United States
Gastonia
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the help all. This is what I suspected, but didnt know if any previous conversation i could not find had excepted this. Not sure I understand the thematic sense of this but that's okay
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McG
Australia
Penshurst
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
no idea why this is so, or any theme behind it. Leader ego?

It is consistent with the C&C Ancients rules that read;
A unit may move onto a hex with a friendly leader if the leader is alone in the hex. However, it must stop in that hex even if it has movement allowance remaining. The lone leader becomes attached to the unit.

so these are more explicit in requiring a stop, even when MP remain.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.