25 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Suicide" cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Ritchie
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
I'm new to TS and after playing a few games with friends (and losing to better game/card play) I really like it, but I have 1 major issue ...

Just been playing a game and in turn 5 I play "CIA Created" at DefCon 2 and my opponent tells me he's won as it's a "suicide" card... now after an explanation I get it, but wouldn't it make sense to either put a small skull or similar on these "suicide" cards so less experienced players get a heads up or in the rules list them so less experienced players don't commit hours to an online game just to be told that rather than being beaten they've made a card play that loses them the game (a big difference)?

The line of "An experienced player would have headlined it at DC3" or "you should have read all the threads on BGG" just don't sit well with me.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Cameron
Australia
Maylands
WA
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
It's not a bad call as there are a number of suicide cards that aren't immediately obvious. Cards like Star Wars or Missile Envy don't scream DEFCON suicide to a new player. However, once you do learn the cards those icons become needless clutter.

What might be nice would be a quick reference card with just the DEFCON suicide cards on it. Once you've learnt the game, the card goes back in the box, never to be seen again.

At any rate, if you want a good summary of all the DEFCON suicide cards, this should help:
http://twilightstrategy.com/2011/12/12/general-strategy-defc...
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Toms Leikums
Latvia
Jelgava
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is not an official term. But rules state that anyone, who brings Defcon down, loses the game. So players just have to be careful and understand, what each card does.