Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Diplomacy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Is a support a better hold? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hans Moleman
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
I was saying boo-urns
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Country A1 -- supports x into y
Country A2 -- supports A1 hold

Even though country A1 doesn't hold, does this count as a power of 2 for country A1?



Sorry for all these n00b questions -- just started playing diplomacy, and these little rules can make HUGE differences
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
T. Dauphin
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar

Absolutely. Any unit with support is stronger than without it.
You might as well put something to work, rather have it sitting around doing nothing (ie holding).

8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffry Welfare
Australia
Guildford
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
KingD21 wrote:
Country A1 -- supports x into y
Country A2 -- supports A1 hold

Even though country A1 doesn't hold, does this count as a power of 2 for country A1?



Sorry for all these n00b questions -- just started playing diplomacy, and these little rules can make HUGE differences


This won't work. Because Army 1 is being ordered to move then Army 2 being ordered to support a hold won't have any effect. In other words if Army 1 doesn't happen to move because it is being bounced then it can still be dislodged by an attack with a power of 2.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max DuBoff
United States
New Brunswick
New Jersey
flag msg tools
"My name is Ozymandias, king of kings: / Look on my works, ye Mighty, and despair!"
badge
Habeo in animo vivere in perpetuum aut mori dum conor.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JeffryW wrote:
KingD21 wrote:
Country A1 -- supports x into y
Country A2 -- supports A1 hold

Even though country A1 doesn't hold, does this count as a power of 2 for country A1?



Sorry for all these n00b questions -- just started playing diplomacy, and these little rules can make HUGE differences


This won't work. Because Army 1 is being ordered to move then Army 2 being ordered to support a hold won't have any effect. In other words if Army 1 doesn't happen to move because it is being bounced then it can still be dislodged by an attack with a power of 2.


Army 1 is not being ordered to move. It is supporting an attack elsewhere. Any unit that is not being moved can be supported, and unit with its own Support order is not moving.
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moshe Callen
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
designer
ἄνδρα μοι ἔννεπε, μοῦσα, πολύτροπον, ὃς μάλα πολλὰ/ πλάγχθη, ἐπεὶ Τροίης ἱερὸν πτολίεθρον ἔπερσεν./...
badge
μῆνιν ἄειδε θεὰ Πηληϊάδεω Ἀχιλῆος/ οὐλομένην, ἣ μυρί᾽ Ἀχαιοῖς ἄλγε᾽ ἔθηκε,/...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I never write simply a hold order but treat the hold order as the default if I forget to give an order to a unit unless there's just nothing else for the unit to do, in which case it must be isolated and is probably sitting on a supply center waiting to take possession, most likely in the early game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur O'Dwyer
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
KingD21 wrote:
Country A1 -- supports x into y
Country A2 -- supports A1 hold

Even though country A1 doesn't hold, does this count as a power of 2 for country A1?


Yes.

https://www.wizards.com/avalonhill/rules/diplomacy.pdf
Page 7, "Supporting a Unit": "A unit that is ordered to hold, convoy, support, or not ordered at all can receive support in holding its position."
and Rule 8 on page 23: "A unit not ordered to move can be supported by a support order that only mentions its province."

However, to avoid pedantry, you should make sure to write only the province: write "A Livonia S A Moscow", not "A Livonia S A Moscow Holds". If you write the latter and someone wants to make an issue of it, the rules won't explicitly support you. If you write the former, the rules definitely support your side.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.