20 Posts

Kings of War» Forums » Reviews

Subject: First impressions from a Warhammer Fantasy Veteran rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jay Shepherd
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I finally had the chance to try Kings of War over the weekend, and I feel like a first impressions review would be fun to share. This review will be a comparison between Kings of War and Warhammer Fantasy.

How I Game

Before I go into the first impressions, it is important that you know what kind of wargaming I prefer. After all, if you are into a different experience, then you won't be able to get anything from my own.

I've been playing Warhammer Fantasy Battles for over 14 years. What I like about the game is the wealth of "customization & meta" the rules allow. In Warhammer, I can select from a variety of spell lores, tons of magic items and equipment. I like wargames that give me the ability to build around my strategic preferences. Warhammer 8th edition has become a bit too solved for me, as it seems like the same competitive lists show up over and over again. The game system has also become a bit too cumbersome for our time-limited get togethers. But that's another review for another game at another time. Simply put, I like having options and I like larger battles.

My Kings of War Experience

To me, the holy grail of wargaming would be a system that is simple at its core, but with a healthy amount of options in the meta as described above. It'd also be balanced and tactical. To me, Kings of War has nailed the simplicity and the on-table tactics requirements, but I think the game lacks a lot of the deep meta that many wargamers like myself love.