Twilight Struggle» Forums » General

Subject: NOOB!!!! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Skerasco Veraii
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello everyone. I'm a noob to this game, have just been lent the box, never played before, don't know much about it except it's rated highly. Just wandering whether any veterans had any advice or anything about first approaching this game, or the best way to get to grips with it?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mattias Elfström
Sweden
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Have you played any other card driven games (CDGs)?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris in Kansai
Japan
Otsu
Shiga
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Best would be to set the board up, look at the cards, read through the rules and have a look at some of the many playthrough videos here on the geek (not necessarily in that order though...).

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Drazen
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Contrary to popular opinion, I usually recommend new players play as the USSR, with an experienced player handling the USA. You won't play a "normal" game, but it will last longer and you'll see more cards and more situations that way.

The main things you should focus on learning from the rulebook are how Operations Points work (either for influence, realignments, coups, or the Space Race), how events activate (especially starred vs. non-starred events), and how regions are scored (domination is tricky, and battleground/adjacency scoring rules are easy to miss when you're new).

The most confusing things to a new player, I think, are the following, so I'd recommend paying careful attention to the following topics. Admittedly, this is probably going to sound like rambling to you, until you actually play the game, but once you do it'll make sense

/...