Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Patman
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

I'm new to Netrunner and want to build a Gabe deck.

Why is Faerie so good. Looks like a one-shot use? How do you make it work and when do you use it etc? What's it combo with?

Cheers

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Axel
msg tools
Faerie is a killer, some sentries tends to be nasty. You can facecheck with only a Faerie on the board without the fear of losing a program or being tagged/netted/brained.

Once the ICE is rezzed you can go for your killer (Mimic/Femme).
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Presley
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
It's basically a tool to protect your programs from getting destroyed by sentries before you have a permanent killer online. Gabe thrives on constant pressure, and can't afford to slow down because an ICE might be Rototurret or Neural Katana, and Faerie keeps Gabe safe so he can keep making runs.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yi Sheng Siow
msg tools
You run HQ. They rez wraparound. You special order corroder. You get in HQ. Yay.

They ice HQ again, or they ice the remote and install inside the remote. Now your biggest fear should be rototurret/grim, which would destroy your corroder(which is a huge deal for gabe), and your ability to get into HQ.

Enter faerie. Install the faerie, run amok. Rototurret costs 4 to rez, so it's a tempo hit for corp to rez it and not have it do anything, while you break it for free. Grim hates faerie.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wesley Kinslow
United States
Piperton
Tennessee
flag msg tools
↳ Do one brain damage ↳ Do one brain damage ↳ End the run
badge
Real heroes wear pink.
mb
Also, I usually tend to look at Faerie as kind of an economy card. It can bust up an Archer or Komainu on the super-cheap. Even if you have a breaker suite, if you have the memory you might want to install that Faerie just to earn 4-6 virtual credit savings on a run.