Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Warhammer 40,000: Conquest» Forums » Rules

Subject: Units getting played to HQ with "When Deployed" Abilitieis rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andy Szymas
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's the situation:

You win a battle at the planet that lets you deploy a unit for free to HQ. You deploy "Sicarius's Chosen", which says "Reaction: After this unit enters play, move a target enemy army unit at an adjacent planet to this planet and deal it 1 damage."

How would you resolve this when the unit is deployed to HQ?

In our game, we decided the effect was lost. Are there other units/effects that are similar?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Ithaca
New York
flag msg tools
badge
If this isn't nice, what is?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I do think you played that correctly.

I believe there are several units that have "enter play" abilities that only target things at their planet. If I'm not mistaken those are all dead functions if played at HQ.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Conor Hickey
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah the effect is lost, Rules Reference Guide pg. 12:

'If an ability references a planet in respect to a
game element, such as the phrases “this planet,”
“same planet,” or “adjacent planet,” the ability can
only be used when the element is itself at a planet
that can be used as a reference point..
2 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Brennan
Australia
St Ives, Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As a technical side-note re "deploy for free", units enter play by either being deployed (you must pay) or by being put into play (for free). You could deploy something for free if the cost is 0 or if you can modify the cost down to 0, but it's still being deployed rather than being put into play (which is what Y'Varn does here).

It's important to know the difference because effects rely on whether something is "deployed" or not. In this case, Sicarius' Chosen's effect doesn't care how it enters play, it triggers off both, so it's fine. But, as stated above, he must enter play at a planet to trigger.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
László K.
United States
Hopatcong
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TwoShedsJackson wrote:
Yeah the effect is lost, Rules Reference Guide pg. 12:

'If an ability references a planet in respect to a
game element, such as the phrases “this planet,”
“same planet,” or “adjacent planet,” the ability can
only be used when the element is itself at a planet
that can be used as a reference point..


Just to add to this (RRG page 8):

A player's HQ is not considered a planet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.