Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Battle of Gettysburg» Forums » General

Subject: Notes: Just Reminders Can Be Played Without. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James D. Williams
United States
Lexington
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Edited: 7/22/15
Early Turns significance:
Recognizing that upon splitting: "Neither the Division nor Skirmisher units may move any further this turn"(7.2)

limits to Breastworks(9.2)[an associated Defense Orders Action]
Remember: The "1" on the Combat Results Table means "lose 1 step or retreat". Otherwise, you'll take early casualties that will break your heart!
[COLOR=#CC0066] Remember:[-] at Streams its -1 to the Attacker's CS and -2 at Creeks. [/COLOR[[i]

[b] Remember:
Disorganized by artillery must retreat if attacked. Only "1R" on the CRT mandates absolute retreat.(Defenders never advance)
Remember: Artillery support from a non-participating Corps, should have occurred on an earlier Defense or Attack Activation.

6/4/2016: Edited to add emphasis.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James D. Williams
United States
Lexington
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Notes:
Buford acts under 'other corps activation' but behaves as if under Defense Orders. 8.0.1. 1st PP and 9.1.5. 1st PP
8.0.1. qualifier: "following conditions" may refer to the unit without an HQ acting just exactly as a unit of the corps for which an Action Card was played, in distinction to acting under Defense Orders (9.1.5.) However, I am persuaded that units without HQ must operate under the restrictions of 8.0.1. although they may be/ are activated under the 'authority' of any Action Card played for a Corps that does have an HQ arrived in game (as Buford is in the Illustrated Example).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James D. Williams
United States
Lexington
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Notes:
*** Does artillery fire count as an attack for Initiative purposes? Artillery is part of the Combat Sequence in the Turn Sequence (last page) and also part of 11.0 Combat Rules. And, "initiating a combat" is the operative phrase for Initiative determination. But, with Defense artillery, the artillery would have to be firing "last" during the owning player's Action Phase.

Units without HQ move according 8.0 and are limited as in 8.0. But, the later reference to them moving only if stacked with a division of an activated corps may only mean that when so stacked, they can act without the restrictions of 8.0. that is, of course, as a unit of that activated corps with which they are stacked. That part, however, does refer to Union army artillery without an Army Artillery HQ.
Units without HQ can be activated whenever any card is played. (Buford Turn One Illustration). But, without a card (regardless of other activations) units move under Defense Orders).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Holte
United States
Fullerton
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Notes:

James,

No, defensive artillery support doesn't count for initiative purposes. It is the attacking player in the combat who benefits in this case.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.