Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Kill Shakespeare» Forums » Rules

Subject: Trading black Influence markers for Action cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mark Maginity
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
David's splendid file depicting a complete Action Phase includes an example of something completely missing from the rulebook, namely the ability to trade three black Influence markers for one Action Card. Assuming this is in fact legitimate, are there any limitations on when this can be done?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Minken
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
badge
Connect More to your family, friends, and community over a board game.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mmaginity2 wrote:
David's splendid file depicting a complete Action Phase includes an example of something completely missing from the rulebook, namely the ability to trade three black Influence markers for one Action Card. Assuming this is in fact legitimate, are there any limitations on when this can be done?


There are no limitations to when you can do this. To summarize you can trade 3 black influence tokens for 2 different privileges:
1. Prep Phase - trade for 3 battle tokens - keep one. Resolve as stated in the rule book if you draw a Quill.
2. Any Phase - trade for 1 Action card. Why would you want to do this instead of trading for VPs from the battle tokens? A couple reasons:
- getting an additional action card might give you a 3rd card, which you can trade for an extra action. This might be more valuable to you than taking a chance with the battle tokens.
- Near the end of the game a lot of the battle tokens may have been picked through - the probability of getting one with 3VPs decreases. And if neither of the Quill symbols have been discovered yet the risk vs. reward for drawing battle tokens gets increasingly more "interesting"!

Also, the Quill is likely to be quite far advanced down the search for shakespeare track near the end of the game, which often reduces the rebellion's bravado and confidence...but every Hero needs to take a few risks at the expense of the group!!

I will let Thomas or Wolf confirm - but I am sure that this fact is legitimate!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Vande Ginste
Belgium
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You nailed it David! 100% correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.