Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Thunderstone Advance: Into the Abyss» Forums » Rules

Subject: Card Clarifications Please rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fellow Thunderstoners!

I am new to the game and have obtained Worlds Collide, Starter Set and Into the Abyss. The following cards I find a little bit ambiguous and would appreciate if anyone has opinions on how they treat the following cards:

Soulfire (Worlds Collide):


"Dungeon: Discard up to 5 XP. Add Magic Attack + 1 for each XP discarded."
My thoughts: If I have two Soulfire cards in my hand and discard 1 XP would I get Magic Attack + 2?

Bolt of Purity (Into the Abyss):


"Dungeon: Magic Attack + 2. Destroy 1 disease"

My thoughts: This means I MUST have a disease in my hand to destroy to obtain Magic Attack + 2? Otherwise this dungeon ability does nothing.

Thanks! I am sure I will have more cards to clarify as I play through the sets. Loving the game!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Grimes
United States
Simi Valley
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
for the soulfire you activate each card individually so no you only get +1 per xp burned BUT you can burn 10 xp with 2 cards in total

as for the bolt my understanding is you get the +2 and THEN destroy 1 disease. it would be worded destroy 1 disease to add +2 magic attack as you are thinking.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will M. Baker
United States
Silverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Sebulik wrote:
for the soulfire you activate each card individually so no you only get +1 per xp burned BUT you can burn 10 xp with 2 cards in total

as for the bolt my understanding is you get the +2 and THEN destroy 1 disease. it would be worded destroy 1 disease to add +2 magic attack as you are thinking.


George is correct on both counts.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks George!
So for the bolt of purity if I didn't have a disease present I assume I can then still get magic attack + 2?
Cheers
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will M. Baker
United States
Silverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
cranky_hobbit wrote:
So for the bolt of purity if I didn't have a disease present I assume I can then still get magic attack + 2?


Correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.