Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Adjacent Ranged Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carl G
United States
Glendale
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This came up the other night and I feel silly asking, but if you're adjacent with a ranged weapon, do you need to roll at least a range of 1 to make the hit? Or is it automatic? We were playing that it always hits.
Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
voidreturn
United States
Round Rock
Texas
flag msg tools
Well, the blue die always has range except for the miss. So unless you roll a "X", it always hits.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
To answer the question, yes, you must roll at least one range to hit one space away (i.e. adjacent spaces).

-shnar
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you need to roll at least 1 range to hit. However, all attacks (except Rat swarms, and the Beastmaster's "Shadow Hunter" skill) involve rolling a blue die. The blue die has a minimum of 2 range on it, except for the "miss" face. Therefore, you never really have to worry about getting 2 range or less (unless you outright miss.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Until an expansion introduces negative range (Imperial Assault has added it, so I imagine Descent will soon).

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl G
United States
Glendale
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Awesome. Thanks for the feedback!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shnar wrote:
Until an expansion introduces negative range (Imperial Assault has added it, so I imagine Descent will soon).

-shnar


See: Deep Elves/Wendigos. They have Stealthy, which means even at Range 1, Ranged attacks against them require at least Range 4 to hit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.