Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Mice and Mystics» Forums » Rules

Subject: Chapter 11 water questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rus
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. If there are more minions than mice on a water space, do they prevent the current from moving the mouse? (A strict reading of the rules is that minions prevent all movement in this case, including current, but strict readings of the rules are frequently overruled by Jerry in favor of common sense.) I assume the current never affects minions, by the way.

2. Minions "may freely move from one tile to the next using connected waterways", presumably treating the spaces between tiles as adjacent. Can they attack (melee or ranged) from one tile to the next? (Strict reading of the rules is no, common sense is yes.) Can mice?

3. What happens when there is a surge and some mice are split between tiles? Do we use the surge on the latest explored tile, or on the tile containing the figure that triggered the surge? Where is this in the rules?

4. I assume if 5 mice are captured, but 1 escapes, this is still a victory? Does that mean that we have achieved a forced victory as soon as the first mouse escapes? (Strict reading of rules is yes, common sense is no.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Hawthorne
United States
dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rbelikov wrote:
1. If there are more minions than mice on a water space, do they prevent the current from moving the mouse? (A strict reading of the rules is that minions prevent all movement in this case, including current, but strict readings of the rules are frequently overruled by Jerry in favor of common sense.) I assume the current never affects minions, by the way.
Minions are not affected by the water in any way except that they can use the water to pass between tiles. Mice do not drift downstream if the space they are in is occupied by more minions than mice.

Quote:
2. Minions "may freely move from one tile to the next using connected waterways", presumably treating the spaces between tiles as adjacent. Can they attack (melee or ranged) from one tile to the next? (Strict reading of the rules is no, common sense is yes.) Can mice?
Mice and minions cannot attack across tiles using melee or range.

Quote:
3. What happens when there is a surge and some mice are split between tiles? Do we use the surge on the latest explored tile, or on the tile containing the figure that triggered the surge? Where is this in the rules?
The surge takes place on the tile where it occurred. This is covered in chapter 4 but not repeated in the special rules this chapter.

Quote:
4. I assume if 5 mice are captured, but 1 escapes, this is still a victory? Does that mean that we have achieved a forced victory as soon as the first mouse escapes? (Strict reading of rules is yes, common sense is no.)
Yes that is a victory, if for some reason the hourglass hasn't yet reached the end.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.