Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Fire in the Lake» Forums » Rules

Subject: Unshaded To Quoc rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dampenon Fabien
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
Rookies talk about strategy, Grognards about Logistics
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As wording is "Place..." and not "May place...", I think this is mandatory.

But if available ARVN cubes are not in sufficient number, must ARVN remove sufficient cubes from elsewhere to place 1 Troop and 1 Police in each space with NVA ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Ladson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
84. To Quoc AVUN 1968

Fear of Northern reprisal: Place 1 ARVN Troop and 1 Police in
each South Vietnam space with NVA.

Thoroughly penetrated: ARVN remove 1 in 3 cubes (round down)


No. When you are taking advantage of an Event, you only need place as much as you want and if you want to short yourself so to speak, you can.


EDIT: Well, there is this from 5.1.3:

Quote:
An executed Event’s text that can be implemented must be. If not all of its text can be carried out, implement that which can.


We know that pulling units from other parts of the board is always an option (1.4.1, 2nd bullet), the question is does the text of the card force removal from elsewhere.

I'm not sure.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oerjan Ariander
Sweden
HUDDINGE
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
You don't have to remove pieces to Available in order to execute the Event (that's one of the implications of 5.1.1, 2nd bullet), but you must place as many pieces as possible from those that already are Available (because of 5.1.3).

In other words: you must execute as much of the Event text as possible given the game state at the time of execution, but you are not required to take other non-Event actions to modify the game state so you can execute even more of the Event text.

Regards, Oerjan
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.