Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Tanzania» Forums » Rules

Subject: Understanding Dice Iconography and Various Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Drake
United States
Midlothian
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dice Iconography
When purchasing a card, you may place any number of dice onto the card during the "choosing action" phase. Lets say you want to purchase the #26 Renown card... which has 2 5-pited dice and you place 3 dice on the purchase card. During the "taking action" phase, you roll all 3 dice.

1) If you roll the 3 dice and get the value 2-4-5... it fails. The iconography (2 5-pit dice) means you need a minimal of two dice with a value of 5 or greater. The value of dice doesn't "sum" together. Is this correct?

2) If you had an insurance dice, you may use that dice for the fail roll. Lets say you roll a value of 4. You would now have a roll of 2-4-5 and 6 (insurance dice +2). Dice never goes away, correct? But the only two dice that matter, when purchasing the card, are the 5 and 6?.


Insurance Cards
Lets say you have an opaque dice on the insurance card (There seems to be no iconography that highlights that the insurance card can only have opaque dice).
1)In the rules, it says "For use in a later round," which indicates you can't use the insurance that round. If so, how are you suppose to keep track of this?
2)After you use an insurance dice, it goes back to your stockpile?

Bank Cards
Lets say you place a die on a 1-die bank card and roll in the second phase.
1) If you roll a 1 or 2... you get nothing. If you roll a 3, 4, or 5... you get one shilling. If you roll a 6, you get two shillings?

Lets say you place two dice on a 2-dice bank card and roll in the second phase.
2) If you roll any pair, you get 3 shillings (1/1, 2/2/, 3/3, 4/4/, 5/5, 6/6). If you do not roll a pair, you get the value of the highest card like above. Thus, if you roll a 6/3 or 6/4... you would get 2 shillings (Because only the 6 matters)? If you roll a 1/2, you would get nothing?

Modifying Dice Values
1) When modifying the lowest/highest die... does that mean the lowest die, of all the rolls (on various cards) or the lowest die within a particular lot?

2)In the rules, it says even though the "lowest dice may be altered, it is still the lowest rolled die." Thus, if you had Skill-17 (+2 to any lowest rolled dice) and skill-18 (+3 to any 1 lowest rolled die)... using both those cards will only modify the same die? What happens if you have multiple die of the same value? Does there have to be a single lowest die?

Thanks =)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shem Phillips
New Zealand
Waikanae
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey John. That's a lot of questions! I'll do my best to clear things up.

Dice Iconography

1) Yes
2) Yes

Insurance Cards
1) Hopefully players should know whether or not they placed it that turn.
2) Yes, it is returned like all other dice once used.

Bank Cards
1) Yes
2) No. It is not a pair you need to get 3 Shillings, it is 2 4's. So other combinations could be a 4 and 5, two fives, 5 and 6, etc. So unless both dice are 4 or higher, only the highest die counts. For example, a 3 and 6 earns just 2 Shillings.

Modifying Dice Values
1) Unless the modifying card says "once per turn", "any 1 die" or something like that, it is effective for the entire round.
2) Yes, only 1 die can be considered the lowest.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Drake
United States
Midlothian
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick response But I have a few more questions.

"Players are limited to collecting a maximum of 6 shillings. Some renown cards can alter this."
1) What exactly does this mean.
(A) Players are limited in collecting more than 6 shillings before any modifiers per turn.
(B)Players are limited in collecting more than 6 shillings before any modifiers per action.
(C)Players are limited in collecting more than 6 shillings after any modifiers per turn.
(D)Players are limited in collecting more than 6 shillings after any modifiers per action.

When to Roll
The rulebook suggests you roll while taking your actions... but because of certain fortune/renown cards, it would be best to roll all the dice at the beginning of your turn and then start resolving actions. For instance, Renown 30 says "Once per turn, you may choose to re-roll any 1's rolled." Can you roll all dice first and then use the renown.... or must you resolve the renown during an individual action?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shem Phillips
New Zealand
Waikanae
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This wording has caused some issues in the past. "Collection", "collecting", etc refer to the cards in front of each player. What that phrase means is "Players are limited to storing in front of them a maximum of 6 shillings." So players can NEVER hold more than 6 shillings in their collection. But some renown cards can increase this limit.

When to Roll - each action is resolved individually. So the mentioned Renown card can only be used to alter 1 set of rolled dice.
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.