Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Snowdonia» Forums » General

Subject: Why would I want to complete certain contracts? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Wheeler
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I've just laid out a solo game and am looking at contract 3/30, which gives 6 points for three station markers. Aren't the points gained from the non-excavation station sites going to be worth more on the stations than on the fulfilled contract? Or is the poor scoring meant to offset more powerful actions?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You get both, the points from the station card and the points for the contract.

So at the end of the game when it's time for scoring, you score in the order on the score sheet. So all the points from your cubes on the track cards and the station cards will get tallied before you add up the contract card points. Then you can remove the cubes from your track cards and put the appropriate number on any contract cards with tracks on it and you would do the same for the cubes on the station cards and put them onto the contract cards requiring them for the number of buildings on the contract card.

Also, both excavation and non-excavation buildings count toward the buildings requirement on the contract cards.

If you had cubes on station cards, you'd score those points and put them in the appropriate space on the scoresheet. Then if you had the contract card 3/30 that requires 3 buildings to get 6 points, you would take 3 of your cubes from the station cards and put them on that contract card and it would score those 6 points.

You do all the scoring in that specific order of the score sheet so that all the cubes on tracks and stations will get scored first. Then for each contract card you have, you would take the cubes from the appropriate spaces (tracks/stations) and put the required number on each contract card, as well as any rubble required. This helps to make sure that you have the required cubes/rubble for that contract card, as well as making sure that none get double scored, or that the same cubes don't get counted for more than one contract card. So if you had 7 cubes on stations, you could use 3 of them for card 3/30 and have 4 more to put toward other contract cards that would require buildings.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Wheeler
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for clearing that up for me! For some reason I was under the impression you had to allocate your cubes for one or the other when scoring at the end, sort of like in Keyflower where you can only score the resources once.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Farrell
Australia
Rozelle
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Averagely Inadequate
badge
Buster Keaton from 'Go West'
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can only allocate them to contract cards once, but you still get the thing they originally scored for anyway.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.