Jeff K
United States
Garner
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Everybody!! I'd like to share my tips tricks and ideas for painting the minis from the fantastic game: War of the Ring (Second Edition). Of course, this guide is also generally applicable to painting.

Yet Another WotR Painting Guide

Yes, I know the number of painting guides on BGG are legion. However, I think there are little in-between steps and tricks that a lot of guides leave out. Hopefully, we can generate some good discourse on best practices. As a disclaimer: I am not an elite painter. Not even close. That said, I have been painting miniatures for well over 30 years. I am also well versed on equipment and supplies, and a lot of this guide will be about those topics. One thing I notice is that there are an awful lot of people having problem with spray paints. Also, dipping seems to be quite en vogue these days, a technique with advantages and disadvantages. Painting is a hobby full of specialty items, some very expensive. If you cannot get some of these specialty items, or do not wish to shell out lots of dough before you know that you even want to "get into" painting, I am going to show you how to do this with simple supplies, in a old-school fashion with great results. Yes, this is going to be a really long article. So, I am going to use an outline so you don't have to suffer through parts of it that you may not need (but there may be a nugget or two in there for you). Or just skip to the end if you want to see some finished product. Here is what we will cover:

I. General Practices
II. Supplies and Equipment
III. Painting Techniques
IV. Recipes
V. My WotR Painting Scheme and Process
VI. Results and Final Thoughts

I. General Practices