Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Warfighter: The Tactical Special Forces Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: M203 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Leonhard
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Can the M203 fire at Range 0?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Axman George
United States
Fort Lauderdale
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not according to the card. You need a grenade for range 0.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Juan Valdez
msg tools
Robert Leonhard wrote:
Can the M203 fire at Range 0?


It's been a few years since I've fired one, but iirc, the 203 round has to spin up before it arms.

kthoooonkt
8 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan "Spartan Spawn, Sworn, Raised for Warring!"
United States
Sellersburg
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
badge
"By the power of truth, I, while living, have conquered the universe."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mtngrown wrote:
Robert Leonhard wrote:
Can the M203 fire at Range 0?


It's been a few years, but iirc, the 203 round has to spin up before it arms.

kthoooonkt


This is correct, it needs a certain amount of 'air time' before it arms.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jules Garside
United Kingdom
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
No Pain No Gain
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
0.05 GG for the unmistakeable sound effect of the M203.
More support weapon impressions if you want more!
Respect
Jules
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Renaud Verlaque
United States
Shelter Island Heights
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmb
Unrealistic perhaps (although range 0 does not just mean at arms length) but stated elsewhere that there is no minimum range for any weapon so yes M203 can be used at range zero.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Brown
United States
Westfield
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Everything I've seen is that player weapons use whatever ranges are stated on the card. Since the M203 only lists range 1 and 2, you cannot use it at range 0. Most player weapons attack hostiles between ranges 0-1 or 0-2, with explicit kill values.

Also, the rules say that the hostile you are attacking must be within the weapon's range. This seems to imply whatever range(s) are listed on the weapon card.

The only place I've seen the "no minimum range" applied is to hostiles, i.e. if the hostile has a range of 2, if can attack anywhere from range 0-2. I believe some/all 2nd printing hostiles have this explicitly spelled out on the range.

If you have a specific link to where this is stated, I'd love to see it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Minnie Wimbles
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mb
I'd like to see Renaud's "stated elsewhere" because that doesn't fit with what's written on the M203's card. Anyway, what die roll are you going to use for Range 0, there's nothing listed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.