Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Clash of Cultures» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dogma Clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Larry Schneider
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
I just want to be certain I've got this right:

Dogma (in my own words): When you construct (not capture) a Temple via an Increase City Size action or using any other means such as playing cards, you can take any Theocracy advance without paying the food cost and also AT NO ACTION COST. If you have more than 2 ideas when you do this, you must discard down to 2 ideas.

I want to clarify this because the word "free" as used in the description can mean different things.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Japhet
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The 2-idea limit is a separate clause so it's independent of building temples. It's always in effect (much like the 2-food limit).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klutz
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
I am a "certified" art critic.
badge
I am a professional BGG commenter.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Your interpretation seems correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Schneider
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
KevBelisle wrote:
Your interpretation seems correct.

Except for what Japhet said above?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Schneider
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
jaafit wrote:
The 2-idea limit is a separate clause so it's independent of building temples. It's always in effect (much like the 2-food limit).

Actually, I just found the clarification about Dogma in the appendix of the rules. According to what that says, the 2-Idea Limit seemingly only applies at the time you actual acquire the Dogma Advance. ??
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
• New Temple= Get a free “Theocracy” advance
• 2 Idea resource limit
Whenever you get a new Temple (either by using “Increasing
City Size” or through playing of cards), you immediately get a
“Theocracy” advance for free. You are, however, limited to 2 Idea
resources. If you have more than 2 Idea resources when getting
the “Dogma” advance, you must immediately discard down to 2.
Always worth quoting source IMO.

To me this says that you have a cap of 2 Ideas. End of.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Schneider
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mccrispy wrote:
Quote:
• New Temple= Get a free “Theocracy” advance
• 2 Idea resource limit
Whenever you get a new Temple (either by using “Increasing
City Size” or through playing of cards), you immediately get a
“Theocracy” advance for free. You are, however, limited to 2 Idea
resources. If you have more than 2 Idea resources when getting
the “Dogma” advance, you must immediately discard down to 2.
Always worth quoting source IMO.

To me this says that you have a cap of 2 Ideas. End of.

I don't know. 'When getting the Dogma advance' says to me that's it not a permanent cap.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
schnel wrote:
mccrispy wrote:
Quote:
• New Temple= Get a free “Theocracy” advance
• 2 Idea resource limit
Whenever you get a new Temple (either by using “Increasing
City Size” or through playing of cards), you immediately get a
“Theocracy” advance for free. You are, however, limited to 2 Idea
resources. If you have more than 2 Idea resources when getting
the “Dogma” advance, you must immediately discard down to 2.
Always worth quoting source IMO.

To me this says that you have a cap of 2 Ideas. End of.

I don't know. 'When getting the Dogma advance' says to me that's it not a permanent cap.
Look at the bullet points: the two attributes of the advance are (1) get a free Theocracy with a new Temple, (2) limit of 2 Ideas. The whole Advance is a satirical observation.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
alan beaumont
United Kingdom
LONDON
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Dogmatic
schnel wrote:
mccrispy wrote:
• New Temple= Get a free “Theocracy” advance
• 2 Idea resource limit...To me this says that you have a cap of 2 Ideas. End of.
I don't know. 'When getting the Dogma advance' says to me that's it not a permanent cap.
If it was meant to be temporary it would state 'reduce to 2 ideas'. The word 'limit' is to indicate a limit.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Marcussen
Denmark
Odense C
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Its a permanent limit.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marqzen wrote:
Its a permanent limit.
Finally: I get one right But was I right about the satire?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Schneider
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
marqzen wrote:
Its a permanent limit. :)

Ah, the final word. Thanks for clarifying.

This is ironic, actually, as I posted this originally because I wasn't sure if "free" meant resource free, action free, or both. Didn't realize this would end up clarifying the Idea limitation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.