Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Thunder Alley» Forums » Rules

Subject: Gaming the Rubbin is Racin Card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Dextraze
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For the purposes of this question use this image:

http://boardgamegeek.com/image/2224222/thunder-alley?size=or...

Can the yellow car #11 begin by moving laterally until car #28 moves back 1 space for free, then

Can the yellow car #11 move forward into the empty space for 1 MP, then


Can the yellow car #11 move laterally toward the outside wall displacing the Green cars #40 and 22 for free, then


Can the yellow car #11 move forward 2 MP, then

Can the yellow car #11 move laterally 1 space towards the apron, then

Can the yellow car #11 move forward 1 MP.

I asked the question because someone I know feels the text on the card text supercedes the rules.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian S.
United States
Miniapples
Minisoda
flag msg tools
01010011 01001000 01000001 01001100 01001100 00100000 01010111 01000101 00100000 01010000 01001100 01000001 01011001 00100000 01000001 00100000 01000111 01000001 01001101 01000101 00111111
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Edit: the next post has it right.

That's a whole lot o' rubbin', but seems legit. All that rubbing and weaving isn't a good way to make friends for the rest of the race though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carman Bulldog
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmb
I would say that it supercedes the lateral movement rules but not the draft movement rules. Thus the text "as many times as it is legal...". So the first two moves are legal but once that draft line is formed they must continue moving forward and can no longer move laterally.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian S.
United States
Miniapples
Minisoda
flag msg tools
01010011 01001000 01000001 01001100 01001100 00100000 01010111 01000101 00100000 01010000 01001100 01000001 01011001 00100000 01000001 00100000 01000111 01000001 01001101 01000101 00111111
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CarmanBulldog wrote:
I would say that it supercedes the lateral movement rules but not the draft movement rules. Thus the text "as many times as it is legal...". So the first two moves are legal but once that draft line is formed they must continue moving forward and can no longer move laterally.
Absolutely right. Forgot about the Draft movement of the card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Horger
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In a logical exercise your concept is correct. You can do a whole lot of destruction... However Carman is correct your first forward move locks you in the draft with #28 and others in tow and so all lateral movement is done for the activation.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Curt Collins
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Why wouldn't you just move the 11 down one and then draft the low line forward, thus moving all of your cars?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.