Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Combat Commander: Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hedge/fence cover from hills rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
JOE LIBRANDI
United States
Peoria
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

Units can see over obstacles from hills to lower elevation. Do units at lower elevation still benefit from hedge/fence cover from fire from hills?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
HEEREN Xavier
Belgium
Liège
Lièe
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
No hindrance except smoke and blaze, but cover everytime...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Lanphear
United States
Stockton
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
joe6778 wrote:

Units can see over obstacles from hills to lower elevation. Do units at lower elevation still benefit from hedge/fence cover from fire from hills?

Fences provide no cover, only a hindrance. Walls on the other hand still benefit from cover.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
StocktonDave wrote:
joe6778 wrote:

Units can see over obstacles from hills to lower elevation. Do units at lower elevation still benefit from hedge/fence cover from fire from hills?

Fences provide no cover, only a hindrance. Walls on the other hand still benefit from cover.


OK, let's lay this out as clearly as we can:

Walls and hedges do not block LOS if the line is traced from/to a higher elevation.

Walls and hedges DO provide their cover even if the LOS is traced from/to a higher elevation and the LOS crosses the hexside with the wall or hedge.

Fences do not give hindrance if the LOS is traced from/to a higher elevation.

Fences never give cover ever.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Huffman
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Malacandra wrote:
StocktonDave wrote:
joe6778 wrote:

Units can see over obstacles from hills to lower elevation. Do units at lower elevation still benefit from hedge/fence cover from fire from hills?

Fences provide no cover, only a hindrance. Walls on the other hand still benefit from cover.


OK, let's lay this out as clearly as we can:

...
Fences never give cover ever.


... Except by Scenario Special Rules!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
huffman123 wrote:
Malacandra wrote:
StocktonDave wrote:
joe6778 wrote:

Units can see over obstacles from hills to lower elevation. Do units at lower elevation still benefit from hedge/fence cover from fire from hills?

Fences provide no cover, only a hindrance. Walls on the other hand still benefit from cover.


OK, let's lay this out as clearly as we can:

...
Fences never give cover ever.


... Except by Scenario Special Rules!


Perhaps...I've played every published scenario and don't recall an SSR to that effect. Doesn't mean there wasn't one (but it might have been something like "Treat fences as walls" or some such).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.