Ship 'A' declares the Romulan Elite Talent Counterstrike as its action. Ship 'B' hits Ship 'A' with Thaleron Weapon forcing it to discard its captain.
Does Counterstrike still activate since it was taken as an action or does it not activate since the only valid elite talent slot has removed?
The counter attack would still go off, since the action had already been taken (assuming the thalaron weapon also dealt damage to the ships hull/shields as required by counter attack).
Pretty sure there was a prior ruling on a similar situation (a discarded sulu, I think)