Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Xia: Legends of a Drift System» Forums » Rules

Subject: Use of sentry gun rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lap Yin Wong
Singapore
flag msg tools
Is sentry gun activated during the action phase (spend 2 energy)? Or the player has a choice to activate it when another ship moves into range? I think the former.

Once activated does the sentry gun shoot once at EVERY ship that comes into range in that turn? Or only shoot once at the first ship that comes into range? I think the former.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rav
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gaizhi wrote:
Is sentry gun activated during the action phase (spend 2 energy)? Or the player has a choice to activate it when another ship moves into range? I think the former.

Once activated does the sentry gun shoot once at EVERY ship that comes into range in that turn? Or only shoot once at the first ship that comes into range? I think the former.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.


You are wrong in both.

You activate it on another player's turn, when they come within (or, are already in) range of it. You get that one shot, then it's flipped over until it refreshes at the end of your following turn.


The wording is that it allows you to make "an" (singular) attack on another player's turn. Use this power only when it isn't your turn.

One shot per round, on another player's turn.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
Santa Rosa
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does the target of the attack have to be character whose turn you are interrupting or can it be any character? The spirit of the card seems to be the target is whose turn it is, but the card text doesn't seem to specifically require it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke Culver
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmb
joshaubry wrote:
Does the target of the attack have to be character whose turn you are interrupting or can it be any character? The spirit of the card seems to be the target is whose turn it is, but the card text doesn't seem to specifically require it.



It's a single attack on any one character in the game(player's or npc's) on any character's turn(player's or npc's) EXCEPT your own.

Example: 4 player game with 2 npc's. You're player 2 and your turn just ended so your ability card is obviously refreshed. The npc goes next. During the npc's turn, you may attack any one player that is adjacent to you. If you choose not to at this time(strategy or simply because no one is adjacent), you can wait until it's player 3's turn, npc number 2's turn, player 4's turn, or player 1's turn.

But just to be clear, you can only attack once per round. It has to come back to your turn for the card to be refreshed to be ready to use again. So if you decide to attack on npc 1's turn, you cannot attack again until after the end of your turn when your ability card will again be refreshed.

Hope this helps!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hero Guy
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thejerryswiss wrote:
joshaubry wrote:
Does the target of the attack have to be character whose turn you are interrupting or can it be any character? The spirit of the card seems to be the target is whose turn it is, but the card text doesn't seem to specifically require it.



It's a single attack on any one character in the game(player's or npc's) on any character's turn(player's or npc's) EXCEPT your own.

Example: 4 player game with 2 npc's. You're player 2 and your turn just ended so your ability card is obviously refreshed. The npc goes next. During the npc's turn, you may attack any one player that is adjacent to you. If you choose not to at this time(strategy or simply because no one is adjacent), you can wait until it's player 3's turn, npc number 2's turn, player 4's turn, or player 1's turn.

But just to be clear, you can only attack once per round. It has to come back to your turn for the card to be refreshed to be ready to use again. So if you decide to attack on npc 1's turn, you cannot attack again until after the end of your turn when your ability card will again be refreshed.

Hope this helps!


Oops...wrong forum. Nevermind.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.