Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Hoyuk» Forums » Rules

Subject: Who destroys houses during a catastrophe? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Evan Duly
Canada
Langley
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
I'm a bit confused as to who applies the effects of catastrophes to the players houses.

In the Building section of the rulebook it says "Players may not destroy their own houses".

And in the section covering catastrophes, it says the current first player draws the catastrophe card and applies the effects.

However, the wording in that section implies that players apply the effects of the catastrophe to their own houses (rounding down).

So does each individual player choose how to apply the effects of the catastrophe to their own houses OR does the current first player apply the effects of the catastrophe?

Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MAGE Company
msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Building section: You cannot destroy your own Houses in case you want to build new ones and in a different way. When you build your Houses, it's over, you cannot destroy them.

So does each individual player choose how to apply the effects of the catastrophe to their own houses OR does the current first player apply the effects of the catastrophe?

In the rules we mention that catastrophe cards affect all the players, is like global events. You read the effect of the catastrophe and IF it applies to you, then you destroy houses, or pens, or whatever the catastrophe card says. Some catastrophe force you to destroy your houses IF again you meet the conditions that card says. For example a card says that in smaller block all players lose half of their houses. If you do not have houses in the smaller block then how is possible that card affecting you? It depends on the effect of the card. The catastrophe cards which say that you can destroy houses, your houses, break the rule you have read in the building section.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Duly
Canada
Langley
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Thanks for the quick reply.

From your response it seems the answer is:

If the effects of a catastrophe card apply to a block with your houses in it, YOU get to choose which of your own houses to destroy in order to meet the catastrophe requirement.

I also now understand the purpose of the sentence in the Building section "Players may not destroy their own buildings". That rule is in effect only during the building phase.

Thanks again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MAGE Company
msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
correct
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.