Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So Grit can be used to reroll pretty much any dice you just rolled, with the exception of the Hold Back The Darkness roll. Does that include Monster attack dice? And since you're not supposed to roll for the monsters attacking you (as "that would be bad form"), if you can spend grit, which hero spends it? The one who was chosen to roll for the hero? The targeted hero?

-shnar
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klutz
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
I am a "certified" art critic.
badge
I am a professional BGG commenter.
mbmbmbmbmb

Thematically, I find using grit to re-roll enemy rolls is ridiculous.

Here are my thoughts on the subject:
KevBelisle wrote:
Can you use grit to re-roll enemy attacks?

From the rulebook (emphasis mine):
Rulebook, page 7 wrote:
Every Hero has Grit (they wouldn’t be much of
a Hero without it).
A Hero may use a Grit to do one of three things:
- Use 1 Grit to Re-roll any number of dice that you just rolled.
- Use 1 Grit to add an extra D6 to your Movement.
- Use Grit to activate a Special Ability or Item that requires it.

Rulebook, page 24 wrote:
Combat is the number of dice the Hero gets to roll when making a Melee Attack.
[...]
Shots is the number of dice the Hero gets to roll for a Ranged Attack made with that Weapon.

Rulebook, page 27 wrote:
Each Enemy rolls a number of dice equal to their Combat value against the Hero it is targeting. [...]

Note that as the game itself is playing the Enemies, it is up to other players to actually roll the dice for the Enemies’ Attacks. A player should not roll the Enemy Attacks on their own Hero (that would be bad form). Instead, one of the other players should roll the dice for the Enemy Attacks against you.

In the quote about the use of grit, who is "you" referring to? Considering the preceding sentences, I'd say that it refers to the hero. (Seems to make thematic sens as well.)