Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Airborne XO
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Been toying with this for ages and would love to get going on it as a nice little sideline project:

Shoot Wrasslin' deck building game

Aim of the game:
1) Build a stable of wrestlers for your promotion.
2) Collect special/signature crowd- pleasing moves, story lines, equipment and arenas, dirty tricks to play on rival player's promotions.
3) Put on house shows culminating in a PPV - who can get the hugest TV ratings and pick up a network deal?

Probably take place in multiple phases (like the blood bowl card game) and see a lot of player interaction such as grudge matches , promotion wrestler trades, wrestlers getting angry and walking out, etc...

This is a game I'd like to play with my friends so that's the primary motivation - I have zero experience of deck building games so what type of mechanics should I be looking to emulate?

This will probably end up a free p&p game btw :) possibly artscow or summthang!

Cheers, Hal

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Warren Fitzpatrick
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't know much about Blood Bowl, and am new to Deckbuilders, but I know a fair bit about wrestling games (having designed one and been selling it for a few years) so I figured I'd chime in with this one.

Looking at what you have, I wouldn't focus on a set number of phases but instead have the winner be the first player to go from an indy promotion to get a network deal (which would be based on Victory Points awarded during the rounds).

The deckbuilders I have played have a starting point set of cards. The one I have the most experience w/ is Ascension and it has 2 cards - one that conducts combat against monsters in the center row and one that recruits heroes and the like from the center row.