Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Memoir '44: Winter Wars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reduced Visibility - Mortars and Arty rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
A.T. Selvaggio
United States
Webster
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Are mortars and arty impacted by the reduced visibility rules? Do they only hit on grenades?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wolfram Troeder
Germany
Bruchkoebel
Hessen
flag msg tools
Boardgaming is not a matter of life or death...
badge
...it's much more important than that!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, all do except on Close Combat.
See Action card 27.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clexton27
United States
Forest
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
atsgamer wrote:
Are mortars and arty impacted by the reduced visibility rules? Do they only hit on grenades?


Unless the unit is an artillery firing on a TANK DESTROYER. In that case a STAR will also cause a hit.

WINTER WARS RULES p.8
Quote:
When a Tank Destroyer targets an enemy Armor or Vehicle unit, all stars rolled score a hit. Unfortunately, they are also more vulnerable to enemy fire, due to their lighter armor: Any non-Infantry unit targeting a Tank Destroyer unit will score a hit on any star rolled.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Williams
Scotland
Elgin
Moray
flag msg tools
mbmb
mzungu wrote:
atsgamer wrote:
Are mortars and arty impacted by the reduced visibility rules? Do they only hit on grenades?


Unless the unit is an artillery firing on a TANK DESTROYER. In that case a STAR will also cause a hit.

WINTER WARS RULES p.8
Quote:
When a Tank Destroyer targets an enemy Armor or Vehicle unit, all stars rolled score a hit. Unfortunately, they are also more vulnerable to enemy fire, due to their lighter armor: Any non-Infantry unit targeting a Tank Destroyer unit will score a hit on any star rolled.


Not just artillery - any non-infantry unit. So that includes other armor units also.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will H.
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not sure this is correct.

Mortar and artillery units do not require line of site, so why would they be impacted by reduced visibility?

Although they are not adjacent to units to spot them, I assume field phones and radios could be used to call in a fire mission. Allowing them to fire on a unit if it was adjacent to another friendly unit would "fix" the rule, but be clunky.

I think it depends on what you want to simulate and what you want to abstract.

Going to dig into the FAQ to see what it says, but we had this exact question today and could not quickly find the answer so we house ruled it based on line-of-sight not being a requirement.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.