Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Conquest of the Empire» Forums » Rules

Subject: Classic CotE roads & fleets questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Valtteri Pirttilä
Finland
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, I've got a question about road movement and another about fleets:

1) Can you attack via a road? As an example let's say you're playing Egypt and you've constructed a road network through the entire northern Africa. Then somebody conquers Numidia with an invasion from Sicily. You have a legion of 5 infantry, 2 cavalry and a general in Egypt. Can you move the entire legion to attack, or does the road movement end before they can enter Numidia? (In that case you could still continue with your general and cavalry - good luck)

2) Is a fleet on a coast safe from attack by other players fleets?

3) Is a fleet in e.g. Hispania able to move out into either the Mediterranean or Atlantean Ocean? No need to say on which side of the province they are stationed? In theory they could also move from the Atlantic to Hispania and then to Mediterranean in one move - effectively crossing land in their movement.

I'm assuming the answers are: no attacks via a road, fleet on a coast is safe and fleets can freely move "through" Hispania in one move.

Lastly, a big thanks to Eagle Games for great support of their products

Valtteri
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noel
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe that the answers are yes, you can attack using a road; yes, fleets are safe from naval attack when they are on the coast (but are very vulnerable to enemy ground units); no, you cannot land at one end of Hispania and then depart from the other side (the rules are very specific on this).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Valtteri Pirttilä
Finland
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Noel,

Thanks for your response. This passage in the rules seems to say that road attacks are not an option:

Quote:
Roads serve as connectors between Cities (fortified or
not) in adjacent provinces owned by the same player.


And the galley rules don't appear to me to be very specific about the landing & departing into Hispania:

Quote:
Galleys may move up to 2 spaces each turn and may
occupy either a sea zone or a province with a coast
(border along a sea zone). However, a Galley may not
move directly from one provincial coast to another
provincial coast even if adjacent. The Galley must first
“go to sea” and may then return to a province (coast)
space. A Galley may move by itself, provided that
there are no land Combat Units aboard. A Galley may
transport a Legion without additional movement cost.

For a Galley, moving from a sea zone to a province
(coast) counts as 1 movement point, as does moving
from a province back out to a sea zone adjacent to that
same provincial coast.


Maybe I shouldn't be taking the rules so literally as much as I should in the spirit, but it seems to me that a province = coast. Moving to/from a coast costs 1 movement point. Movement from coast to another coast is prohibited, i.e. no land movement with galleys. But I see nothing preventing the traverse of Hispania, except perhaps the last sentence "...a sea zone adjacent to that same provincial coast." But if a coast = province, then that doesn't apply.

Maybe the rules are meant to say that the galleys are not in the actual province, but in a coastal area of the province. And that coastal area probably means one "side" of the province. That would make sense and your interpretation would be correct. The sentence "The Galley must first “go to sea” and may then return to a province (coast)
space." is perhaps a bit misleading...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Szegedi
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here are some good pics and threads on "Roads" and "Galley Movements":

http://eaglegames.zeroforum.com/zerothread?id=5975

(and)

http://eaglegames.zeroforum.com/zerothread?id=5972


...Hope that helps!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Valtteri Pirttilä
Finland
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Seems somebody else needed the same clarifications I did

Thanks a lot Holywolfwan, this cleared everything out!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jean-Claude Ranise
France
Croix
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes thankx for the clarification!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Crowder
Canada
North Bay
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Too bad the site shut down, I would have liked to see those threads.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.