Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Shadows of Brimstone: City of the Ancients» Forums » Rules

Subject: using items/tokens rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
King of the Wood
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mb
So I figure that a character may use (if it his turn or NOT) any side bag token like herbs, bandage etc at anytime in the game except interrupting rolled damage taking effect and it does not use up a n attack or search action. Except dynamite which is a ranged attack.

Anyone has a different take on this?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C Lagace
msg tools
I was going to do something very similar. But I was going to have the action of using a saddle bag item count as an attack during the fight. Not sure if that will make it too hard though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
kell zilla
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Using any side bag token (aside from dynamite) is free to use, can happen anytime, and doesn't have to be played on the hero holding the token (you get 5XP per wound healed on another hero, too!). It does not take the place of your hero's action. You can use it before, during, or after your hero's action (as long as you don't know exact damage being taken).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
King of the Wood
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mb
do you think you can use a saddle bag (except dynamite) item even before or perhaps after a character has activated.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Canning
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Stand By, Ready
badge
Wolkenritter
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Troll66 wrote:
do you think you can use a saddle bag (except dynamite) item even before or perhaps after a character has activated.


Yes.

The only time you can't use one is when you are in the middle of resolving damage.

IIRC the Playtester who commented on this said you could use bandages after seeing how many hits the monsters had hit you with but before you rolled Defense to dodge them for example.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Bass
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
This is not addressed anywhere in the rule book. Personally, I feel that using any item should be an action that replaces your character's attack and can only be done during your hero's activation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Kosman
United States
JB MDL
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
kellzilla wrote:
Using any side bag token (aside from dynamite) is free to use, can happen anytime, and doesn't have to be played on the hero holding the token (you get 5XP per wound healed on another hero, too!). It does not take the place of your hero's action. You can use it before, during, or after your hero's action (as long as you don't know exact damage being taken).


Can you please state a reference for using Side Bag items on other Heroes and the XP gains for it?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sir Bryond
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
ComplacentBadger wrote:
kellzilla wrote:
Using any side bag token (aside from dynamite) is free to use, can happen anytime, and doesn't have to be played on the hero holding the token (you get 5XP per wound healed on another hero, too!). It does not take the place of your hero's action. You can use it before, during, or after your hero's action (as long as you don't know exact damage being taken).


Can you please state a reference for using Side Bag items on other Heroes and the XP gains for it?


p16:

Healing Other Heroes
Any time a Hero Heals Wounds or Sanity Damage from
another Hero (regardless of the method), they gain 5 XP for
each Wound/Sanity healed.
Tokens like Whiskey and Bandages may be used to Heal
other Heroes that are adjacent to you during a Fight, or even
just on the same Map Tile while there are no Enemies on the
board.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Kosman
United States
JB MDL
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SirBryond wrote:


p16:

Healing Other Heroes
Any time a Hero Heals Wounds or Sanity Damage from
another Hero (regardless of the method), they gain 5 XP for
each Wound/Sanity healed.
Tokens like Whiskey and Bandages may be used to Heal
other Heroes that are adjacent to you during a Fight, or even
just on the same Map Tile while there are no Enemies on the
board.


Cheers! You're a gentleman and a scholar!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Canning
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Stand By, Ready
badge
Wolkenritter
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
metalcat wrote:
This is not addressed anywhere in the rule book.


No. Inspector Jee asked Jason about it in an email.

Quote:
Jason Hill wrote:
The only restrictions on the timing for using a Side Bag Token (other than those noted above about general timing) are restrictions that apply to the effects of that type of Token. For instance, with any Healing effect, such as Bandages, it can be done any time except between Defense/Willpower rolls being made and actually having the Damage applied (you may Heal after you see that you have been Hit, but once you make your Defense rolls, you must accept any Damage that results).


There is an FAQ here that has the best understanding of the game BGG has been able to extract.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sir Bryond
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
How many side bag tokens (except dynamite) can be used during one turn? Each hero one or can one hero use three bandages (for example)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacob Kosman
United States
JB MDL
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
SirBryond wrote:
How many side bag tokens (except dynamite) can be used during one turn? Each hero one or can one hero use three bandages (for example)?


Appears to be no limitation in the rulebook that I can find, with the obvious exception of Dynamite. We've been playing with no limitation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.