Popular Tags: [View All]
richard dyrda
United States
Hawthorn Woods
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
After learning the system again at BGG.Con (thanks again Andrew for all the help) retrying the EG scenarios.

NATO will play it patient, after all they have to come to me and I'll use my range as my friend, and setup within Eisenbach and allow the dragons to cover the two primary flanks around the Eisenbach Hill. The Abrams and TOW Jeep cover the Klappebruck valley with the ITV covering the west flank.

The Soviets recognizing the defensive posture of NATO starts with loaded infantry in the BMPs and plans to dash just south of the Eisenbach hill to regroup for an attack. Early smoke will clog the Klappebruck Valley to allow the Soviets free early movement. HE missions will be used to shock infantry positions within Eisenbach.

Thoughts from experienced players?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Warren
msg tools
I'm not very experienced, but your setup looks fine to me. Like you said, use range to your advantage. I've had the Soviets move through the woods prior to their assault to lessen the Americans range advantage. Good luck!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tuomas Takala
Finland
Lahti
flag msg tools
badge
Silk for Calde!
mbmbmbmbmb
I always find it attractive to make the first line of defense on the hill south of Eisenbach, to harass the Soviets as soon as they come on board. Yes, smoke will provide cover, but there will still be a lot to shoot at with Advanced Imaging. And, smoke doesn't cover everything. If there is an Abrams west of the hill, it will most likely have some attractive targets when the 33rd closes on the hill.

But of course, if the US has an Infantry or TOW Jeep on the hill, they will probably shelled with a HE strike and in the worst case die. Yet I think that the delaying and disrupting effect (especially if they hit the Soviet HQ) is worth it.