Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Flash Point: Fire Rescue» Forums » Rules

Subject: The Rescue Specialist's Free Movement AP's rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Phil DeKoning
United States
Bozeman
Montana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
(Before reading, note edit at bottom...)

When I first got Flash Point ever so many collapsed building ago, I thought the Rescue Specialist was a bit of an underpowered character compared to the others. Yes, she gets some free spaces of movement and cheap Chop actions, but paying double to put out fires is a pretty high price. Very rarely did she appear in any of my games.

Then I read somewhere in the rules forums a clarification of Action Points versus Movement Actions and the Rescue Specialist's 3 free Movement AP's, but I just can't find it right now. Since this has come up in a few posts in the last few months, I thought I'd try to repeat it.

Anyway, the Rescue Specialist gets 3 free Movement AP's, but I don't think the rules are absolutely clear on what a "Movement AP" is.

A Movement AP is not just moving from one square to another, though that's the way I first interpreted it and I think that's the way most people still interpret it.

One of the Rescue Specialist's Movement AP can be used to do any one of the following Move actions:
Move to a Space with fire
Move to a Space without fire
Carry an untreated Victim to an empty space/space with smoke
Carry Ladder
Erect/Collapse Ladder
Enter/Climb/Descend Ladder with/without victim
Descend/Climb out of pit on Merchant Ship map

(Of course, she could spend her normal AP's at normal costs for these same actions, as well.)

Now, I would assume that Honor & Duty's "doubled movement cost for Move actions" because of Difficult Terrain would not apply to the Rescue Specialist's Movement AP, since that seems to be in the spirit of the rules, and I'll play it that way unless I read otherwise, but I don't know.

So, the Rescue Specialist could, with 4 normal AP's and 3 Movement AP's, move an untreated victim as much as 5 spaces.

3 spaces from Movement AP's,
2 from normal AP's at 2 normal AP's/space.

Treated or Lightly Wounded victims would move up to seven spaces, since leading them costs 0 AP's.

My other question would be the heavy victim, though I think, since it says you double all AP costs, one "Movement AP" could be combined with 2 normal AP's for one space of movement, should that be needed. So, I would guess she could haul him 2 spaces per turn, (2 Movement AP for the first space, the remaining Movement AP and 2 Normal AP for the second) saving the remaining 2 AP's.)

(Edit: It seems I have been incorrect, though I'll leave my incorrectness as an example to others.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Byrd
United States
Gladwyne
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Explaining the Rescue Specialist's Free Movement AP's
Where is the ruling that a "free movement AP" can be used to execute an action that would ordinarily cost several APs? That doesn't sound right to me; and certainly isn't how we've been playing PBF games here with one of the designers.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil DeKoning
United States
Bozeman
Montana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Explaining the Rescue Specialist's Free Movement AP's
I may be wrong, but I am about 99% sure that I read that in a reply either from Mr Pietschker or some other similarly authoritative designer in a forum post somewhere.

And, believe me, I've been looking!

I'm kind of hoping that either I'll find it or I'll get a reply that either confirms or denies what I'm pretty sure I thought I saw.

Please consult with your friend and let me know.

If I'm wrong, I'll delete the post. It won't be the first time I've been wrong on a rule. (And it won't be the last, either.)

Honestly? Even if I find out I'm doing it wrong, I think I'm going to play it the way I described. From my experience, the rescue specialist just doesn't get used that much. Three extra AP's to spend on Movement actions and cheap Chop actions is not enough to justify double cost extinguish actions to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zeddy
Australia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Explaining the Rescue Specialist's Free Movement AP's
BozemanPhil wrote:

One of the Rescue Specialist's Movement AP can be used to do any one of the following Move actions:


No. The Rescue Specialists free Movement AP can be used to do any of the normal Move actions, at their normal cost (just like every other firefighter). E.g. it still costs her 2 MP to enter a space with fire, whether this is two of her free MP, 1AP + 1 MP, or 2 AP. She's fast, but not superhuman!

BozemanPhil wrote:
From my experience, the rescue specialist just doesn't get used that much. Three extra AP's to spend on Movement actions and cheap Chop actions is not enough to justify double cost extinguish actions to me.


The rescue Spec gets used in just about every game we play; she is awesome in the pure rescue mode (obviously), but we also love her for helping carry and setup ladders in the first turn for other players. Used well in conjunction with other firefighters, she rocks!

And when she banks up AP from a previous turn, she can pull of some stunning rescues!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil DeKoning
United States
Bozeman
Montana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, I've got a cold at the moment, so maybe it's a hallucination brought on by fever. I'd like to think I could come up with something better to hallucinate about, though!

I'm still fairly sure I saw something official or semi-official somewhere that described those extra movement AP's the way I described them. (Maybe it had to do with the definition of a Movement AP?)

Anyway, unless I can find a link to cite or something to quote in here, there's no point in starting a rules debate with no evidence. So, without that, I'll go with the general consensus.

(I modified the post's title to be a little clearer.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lutz Pietschker
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BozemanPhil wrote:
I'm still fairly sure I saw something official or semi-official somewhere that described those extra movement AP's the way I described them.

I honestly hope it was not me who expressed himself in a way to be misunderstood so horribly. English is not my native language, so maybe it was me- in that case I apologize. No, the Rescue Specialist's extra APs are (as all extra APs) exactly as effective as a normal AP, but in his case limited to movement-related actions.
This is a concept I often have to explain more than once when playing with novice players: Some roles have extra APs that come with limitations (cannot be saved, only use them for this-or-that), other roles have extra powers (treatment, imaging, disposing) or discounts (chopping, deck gun) and have to pay from their normal APs, and one has both extra powers and extra APs (Fire Captain). It is important to keep both concepts (extra APs vs extra powers) apart.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil DeKoning
United States
Bozeman
Montana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh, don't apologize. It was my mistake. (I choose to blame it on toxic shock from the two bags of cough drops I've consumed in the last 72 hours.)

You usually respond very quickly to rules questions, and I really appreciate that.

Since I still can't find whatever it was, I wonder if what I was reading had to do with the definition of a "Movement AP," since those can be used for a lot more then going from one square to another. (Setting up/collapsing ladders, for instance.)

Hopefully my mistake will save some other players similar trouble.

Thank you again for replying so quickly!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.