Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

18FL» Forums » Rules

Subject: Selling shares...when? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mario Aguila
Chile
Puerto Montt
Chile
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules says:
Quote:
Stock of Corporations that have not yet operated may not be sold.

This limitation is for players only? Could the Pool-Bank sell shares?

I'm asking because in the next paragraph the reference is for players, but not in that one.
"A player may no sell a share of stock if the sale..."

Sorry for this kind of question, but i'm in the alfa version of a spanish translation of the rules (after beta, I need to play at least twice to have the version 1.0). Work in progress at http://www.writely.com/View.aspx?docid=dctx3933_318cshrcz
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Tamplin
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
The bank pool doesn't sell shares -- it is a place which holds shares which have been sold. However, the question is moot since shares may not be sold in companies which have not yet operated, so their shares may not be in the bank pool until after they have operated.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mario Aguila
Chile
Puerto Montt
Chile
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sot the rules in 5.3 must be
Quote:
Stock of Corporations that have not yet operated may not be sold from the Pool.


Without that, if a company have not yet operate, how could the players buy shares, the President Certificate and operate?

In other forum I received this answer:
Quote:
When a player buys a share, he
- takes it from the bank (new share) or the pool (share sold by another player)
- pays the money into the bank: original price (new share) or current market value (used share)

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/127845
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Shaffer
United States
San Francisco
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marioaguila wrote:
Sot the rules in 5.3 must be
Quote:
Stock of Corporations that have not yet operated may not be sold from the Pool.


That should be "to the Pool" not "from the Pool." The actual rule is "Stock of Corporations that have not yet operated may not be sold." The implicit addenda is "may not be sold [by players]" -- players are always allowed to purchase shares in companies, thus the bank and the pool may always 'sell' shares.

marioaguila wrote:
Without that, if a company have not yet operate, how could the players buy shares, the President Certificate and operate?


Shares that have never been owned by players are purchased from the bank.

marioaguila wrote:
In other forum I received this answer:
Quote:
When a player buys a share, he
- takes it from the bank (new share) or the pool (share sold by another player)
- pays the money into the bank: original price (new share) or current market value (used share)

http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/127845


In 18FL, shares are always purchased at current market value, whether purchased from the bank or the pool. The original price is not tracked as it is in many other 18xx games.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.