Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Space Hulk» Forums » Rules

Subject: Losing Commander - does promoted Marine get Sergeant bonus in first edition? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott Sommer
United States
flag msg tools
I just picked up a copy of the First Edition Space Hulk, and I've got a question about what happens when the Sergeant is killed. In the rules, under the Losing Commanders section, it says that when a squad's sergeant is killed, one of the remaining Marines takes over. Does this mean he gets the +1 bonus when in close assault? Or was this statement in the rules just to give justification for the loss of 30 seconds of time each turn?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Tak
United States
Chapin
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SeismicAssault wrote:
this statement in the rules just to give justification for the loss of 30 seconds of time each turn?


You got it there Thematically, one takes over. Gameplay wise, the benefits of the sergeant are lost.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Sommer
United States
flag msg tools
That's what I thought, since the rules didn't really go into any depth as to how to pick the replacement, etc.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
He doesn't gain the bonus. I always thought though it was so that if this new leader was killed, take off another 30 seconds...

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars Wagner Hansen
Denmark
Sorø
flag msg tools
designer
Any time, any place!
badge
Fingers off, that's my car!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shnar wrote:
He doesn't gain the bonus. I always thought though it was so that if this new leader was killed, take off another 30 seconds...

-shnar

That would not make any sense.

Having no sergeant gives you 2:00 no matter how many models you have. Having one (or more sergeants) gives you and extra 0:30.

You do not loose another 0:30 for each marine who dies after the sergeant.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's not each marine, but rather the specific marine who was field promoted.

But either way, I think you're right. Here's the rule:

Quote:
When a Squad’s Sergeant is killed, one of the remaining Marines
takes over. The new commander is less experienced, and probably
won’t be as decisive as the Sergeant he is replacing. When this
happens in the game, the Marine player gets even less time to
complete his move!

You lose thirty seconds of time for each of your Sergeants killed
(or not in play to begin with). Therefore, if you’ve got only one
Sergeant in play, you have only two minutes and thirty seconds to
make your move; if both are gone, you have just two minutes.

I'm confusing the "new commander" with "each of your Sergeants". I thought that the marine who takes over and becomes the new commander was now a sergeant, and thus if he was killed you lost more time. Rereading the rules, I believe I'm wrong.

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars Wagner Hansen
Denmark
Sorø
flag msg tools
designer
Any time, any place!
badge
Fingers off, that's my car!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But it would be each marine if you were unlucky:

1) Whole squad alive: 2:30
2) Sergeant dies, Marine 1 promoted to field sergeant 1: 2:00
3) Field sergeant 1 dies, Marine 2 promoted to field sergeant 2: 1:30
4) Field sergeant 2 dies, Marine 3 promoted to field sergeant 3: 1:00
5) Field sergeant 3 dies, Marine 4 promoted to field sergeant 4: 0:30

But regardless, this is not how the rules work.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.